We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel brought down by loud guests”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Ranked #165 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great hotel brought down by loud guests”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Booked this hotel as price was good and had read good reviews about it. Also wanted a hotel close to the Garden as we were seeing a Rangers game that night. Staff at hotel were very friendly, efficient and accommodating with our left luggage. Our room was very good and breakfast the next day was good. My son especially liked being able to make his own waffles! Unfortunately our stay was brought down by some very noisy guests returning back to their room at 5am. They had no consideration at all for any of the other guests. Other than that I would recommend this hotel highly, but just hope you get some considerate guests next to you!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Raymond O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
I am so sorry that you were disturbed by other guests. I hope our staff responded quickly and that you will stay with us again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    844
    744
    192
    56
    38
See reviews for
697
461
108
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, United States
1 review
Reviewed December 26, 2013

The staff was excellent, the breafast food was very good, and I was very pleased with the cleanliness and accomodations. We arrived early and the parking was directly across the street, the staff ensured I had my ticket validated. The room was ready early and we were treated very well. The staff also assisted us with maps to go to Little Italy and Chinatown via the subway. Great people always make the difference. Beds were comfy!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
I am glad you chose to spend your holiday with us and hopefully we will see you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 26, 2013

This hotel is located in NYC for easy in and easy out! Perfect for overnight stay in NYC during busy Christmas week. Parking for your vehicle was across the street and reasonable. Great location for walking to all of the spectacular city sights! Fabulous!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thank you for allowing us to be part of your Holiday experience in NYC. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Ma, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed December 25, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located walking distance to local attractions. Room though small was clean and bathroom was well maintained. Its fine for a family of 3 but 4 may be a crown if you plan on spending time in the room. We basically came back to sleep and spend little in the room. Free breakfast is a major + as its really convenient without having to step out.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank jrayss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. I hope you will give us an opportunity to show you that we can be EXTRAORDINARY .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

We stayed at Hampton Inn Madison Square Garden during our recent trip to New York. It was a short walk to Macy's.

While not in any way luxurious, we knew what to expect from a Hampton Inn, and we were happy with the room. While small, it was clean, and it had all the basic amenities that we needed during a 1 night stay.

The complimentary breakfast was convenient - the breakfast area was very crowded, but the staff were efficient, and we were happy to get some hot chocolate and fresh waffles.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stelllla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thank you for your comments and location means a lot in NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alghero
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

One working lift,tiny rooms and horrible breakfast as well as very loud construction next door at 7am. They do give you earplugs for what its worth. Front desk people nice though. I would not recomend it to anyone, there are better and cheaper options in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kayakingclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
I apologize for the construction going on with our neighbors and the busy elevators. Please come back and visit us after construction to see how it has enhanced the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NT Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Compact hotel in a great location. We stayed in three different locations while in New York - Hampton Inn Maddison Square Gardens being the first. The room was compact but as you are out most of the day it was fine, although I would have liked a little more space in the bathroom. What we loved - stroll to the end of the street and go to the Maddison Square Box office - second night in NY we saw the New York Rangers ice hockey, third night The Eagles (yes my Dad was completely jealous!). It's easy just like an ATM only tickets come out! Right next door Freidman's had only been open 8 weeks- Monday and Tuesday wines at $25per bottle, our Californian Pinot Noir was awesome, and great fresh food! Right next door is a nice place to have a drink but there are better eating spots - like Freidman's around. We also liked the little Italian diner down the street near Macy's. Good for a quick lunch- try the individually wrapped lasagne! Just around the corner is a great bar with a very helpful barman and great apple martinis! At the hotel the Complimentary breakfast is ok, even if you just have coffee and a bagel, it is convenient. As a new HH member I liked the free wi fi access too. Overall The hotel was great for our first few nights in New York.

Room Tip: We had a corner room at the back, while there is construction we where up and out when they started...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greenbunnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
i am glad that the location of our hotel played such a great role in making your trip to NYC so enjoyable. please come and visit us when the construction is over.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#122 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#151 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,832 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#110 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#172 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,040 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#183 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#272 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Address: 116 West 31st Street, New York City, NY 10001-3401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Green Hotel in New York City
#96 Family Hotel in New York City
#135 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#157 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just one block from Madison Square Garden, this hotel provides a great location for travelers looking to be walking distance to some of Manhattan’s top attractions. Catch concerts and games at MSG or walk to The Fashion Institute of Technology and see the latest fashions in the Garment District. Guests can walk to Penn Station which serves many of the city’s major subway lines and be anywhere in the city within minutes including top destinations like Times Square, Central Park and Broadway theatres. Guests will enjoy complimentary breakfast, high speed internet access, a modern fitness center and our well-equipped business center. After you’ve spent the day taking in the sights and sounds of the city, enjoy a peaceful night’s sleep in a comfortable Hampton bed®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Madison Square Garden Hotel New York City
Hampton Inn New York City
Madison Square Garden Hampton Inn
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing