We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay - great location and hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Ranked #142 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. The room and bed were very comfortable. The location was perfect for our needs. Parking offsite was not a problem for us.The folks at the front desk were courteous, friendly and polite. The breakfast met our expectations for Hampton Inn hospitality and the friendly staff there made sure to replace food items as needed and kept the area clean. We will definitely consider staying at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Check online for coupons for nearby parking or call the hotel to inquire. We did learn about discoun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seabird0855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay as well as the location of the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,041)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

923 - 929 of 2,041 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2013

This hotel was excellent! Everyone was friendly and helpful. It was very clean and a great location. The complimentary breakfast was great and all the information the staff gave us for the thanksgiving day parade was so helpful. We would absolutely stay here again!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Ronald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

I am glad to hear that everything was "EXCELLENT" with your stay and that our staff was able to accomodate your every neeed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Before arriving at the hotel, I had seen the reviews about small rooms? Me and my partner found the room to be more than enough for the two of us? Maybe trying to squeeze 4 people into a room with 2 double beds may be tricky, but for 2 of us with just a king bed, we were happy with the size. The hotel itself is in a fantastic location, we were 3 minutes from Madison Sq Garden, 15 minutes from times square, and 20 minutes to the shops on 5th avenue. We spent 10 nights at the hotel, which is a long stay according to reception, and during the 10 nights we loved our stay. There is construction work going on next door, but it doesnt start til 7am and finishes at 330pm and not on at all during weekends. We were up by 7am most mornings anyway, after spending money on a trip to NYC, we didnt waste a second sitting in bed longer than we needed. Free Breakfast is nothing special, but it fills you for the day. The only downside is the lifts. Just 2 very slow lifts for the 19 floors means on occasions you are waiting a while for a lift to or from your room. All in all i'd highly recommend, and any future trips to NY we'd certainly stay again

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arron1403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn MSG. i look forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I LOVE this small hotel. A stones throw from Penn Station, walk from the train or GO bus stop on 31st Street.
The rooms are small, but very clean, great bed, free full breakfast, friendly staff, and the location is fabulous for shopping on 7th Ave and connecting to all transportation terminals.

Room Tip: Choose king bed-there is more space than two doubles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Thank you so much for your positive feedback regarding your stay with us. I looking forward to your next visit to NYC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

The Hampton Inn- Madison Sq. Garden is a wonderful hotel. The location, the room, and the staff are great. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, and it was so convenient. Located between 6th and 7th Ave, and very close to Times Sq, the hotel is literally a 5 minute walk to Madison Sq. Garden!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank jmharrity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

This is a great hotel tucked behind JC Penny and Macys. Its just a short walk to the main attractions however for 5th Av, you need to take the train unless its a pleasant day. The hotel has a decent breakfast that fills you up and the people that work and guests are all very friendly. The hotel amenties are good and sufficent for the stay. Price wise, this hotel is expensive and such is the case of NY generally but other things such as food etc are cheap compared to most places. Its a wonderful city and everyone must see it. Its also a perfectly safe hotel.

Room Tip: Most rooms are fine, there was construction taking place next door and so I imagine everyone had to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jetsetter6430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

This hotel was recently updated. The rooms are on the small side but very clean and a great value for the money. Breakfast is plentiful and has cereals eggs and make your Ian waffles. The staff all seemed friendly and wanted to be sure you were happy.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank Ronald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#152 of 471 in New York City
1,976 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#159 of 471 in New York City
2,253 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#120 of 471 in New York City
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#251 of 471 in New York City
2,525 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#264 of 471 in New York City
2,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area

Address: 116 West 31st Street, New York City, NY 10001-3401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Green Hotel in New York City
#60 Family Hotel in New York City
#133 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#153 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $123 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just one block from Madison Square Garden, this newly refreshed, modern hotel provides a great location for travelers looking to be walking distance to some of Manhattan’s top attractions. Catch concerts and games at MSG or walk to The Fashion Institute of Technology and see the latest fashions in the Garment District. Guests can walk to Penn Station which serves many of the city’s major subway lines and be anywhere in the city within minutes including top destinations like Times Square, Central Park and Broadway theatres. Guests will enjoy complimentary breakfast, high speed internet access, a modern fitness center and our well-equipped business center. After you’ve spent the day taking in the sights and sounds of the city, enjoy a peaceful night’s sleep in a comfortable Hampton bed®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Madison Square Garden Hotel New York City
Hampton Inn New York City
Madison Square Garden Hampton Inn
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing