We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most welcoming stay in a hotel for me, my wife and my 4 & 5 year old boys. Joe Metlej from Halifax ns Canada”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Ranked #161 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“The most welcoming stay in a hotel for me, my wife and my 4 & 5 year old boys. Joe Metlej from Halifax ns Canada”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

On arrival, without a reservation due to a mix up at another hotel, we thank God for Kevin the hotel manager who quickly made us feel like we were invited close friends in his own home. We felt like Kevin was family, and I just met the guy 5 minutes ago. We stayed 2 Nites. During our stay, Kevin's great leadership skills obviously rubbed off on his entire crew. Very friendly, helpful, courteous especially I think its Kevin's assistant Mgr Carlos. What a great crew to deal with. Extra clean rooms, sweet breakfast in the morning, location is perfect, and above all Kevin the manager, Carlos his assistant, and the entire staff made me and my family feel at home. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank halifaxjoemet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    872
    771
    195
    56
    41
See reviews for
731
472
112
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Spencer, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This hotel had everything we needed. The hotel room was clean, updated, and had no weird smell that you get in other hotel rooms. The bathroom was also very clean. We had no problems using the free WIFI in our room, as we did with other hotels on this vacation. The hotel is not very big, the hallways are small, and the rooms are tight, but it was overall very functional. It was as nice as we expected. We also really appreciated the complimentary warm breakfast, and coffee at all times, a nice freebie in an otherwise very expensive city... We chose the hotel because of its proximity to times square and Penn Station (right down the street), but one thing we didn't like was after midnight there are homeless sleeping all up and down the street (I counted over 20) between the hotel and Penn Station, which was a little intimidating for this tourist.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Trista Marie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Kevin is an excellent manager and his team is always helpful. Very accommodating and puts the customer first. I had a small issue with the bill which was sorted out personally by Kevin. The breakfast is standard Hampton but the staff are extra careful to check on guests - including Kevin.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

No problems with my stay. Room was clean. The staff was helpful. Fun treats at the front desk including a 'to-go' brown bag breakfast. Great location a block or so from Penn Station. Would stay here again and recommend to friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank lcotone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Our room was on the 7th floor. Very small, but we only slept in the room so it was fine. Very clean, and the breakfast was a good bonus. The location is very central - we enjoyed that. Staff were friendly, parking only a few steps away. Overall, left with a good impression of the place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJMV86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I just stayed two nights (Friday & Saturday) in this hotel while on a weekend sightseeing trip while in the Northeast on business. This was my first trip to NYC and I researched parts of the city and hotel rates extensively. This hotel met my needs for several reasons: (1) very good rate, compared to most comparable hotels in this area, (2) close proximity to Penn Station, where I needed to connect with Amtrak on Sunday evening, and (3) I prefer Hilton properties, especially Hampton Inns.

The staff was extraordinarily friendly every time I dealt with them, especially in a city where I felt that not everyone in the service industry was this friendly. The hotel is classic NYC -- very small, but Hampton has done well with this space. The floors are tiny - maybe 8 rooms per floor, but the hotel is several stories high. My room was small, but fine for one person. I did wish for more counter space in the bathroom, but this room had an enormous desk that sufficed. As with all Hamptons, the bed was incredibly comfortable and I slept very well. Because of the size of this hotel, there are two pretty small elevators and when the hotel is full (like it was my weekend), you can wait a very long time to get the elevator. The staff was very helpful with my questions about directions, subway locations, checking my luggage for the day, etc.

The most interesting thing I can say about this hotel is the breakfast/eating area. It is a surprisingly large room for such a small footprint and even has an outdoor courtyard with tables and chairs. Unfortunately, because I was staying on a summer weekend, both mornings the dining area was packed to the gills. It was frustrating to try to get your food, and then finding a place to sit was challenging. I encountered several rude European visitors that hogged large amounts of table space. However, none of this is the hotel's fault. The room is bright, clean, and cheery, and the food was identical to the Hampton Inn breakfasts I've had other places.

If I return to NYC, I will most likely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lms68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised as this Hampton Inn was above what I expected for an entry-level chain hotel. Great (free!) breakfast and the staff at the front desk always said hello. The hotel is tight quarters but it's NYC so what can you expect. Our room was modern and clean, plus we got free snacks and bevs when we checked in which I thought was a nice touch, not sure if that was because we were part of the Hilton Honors program or not but we obliged and enjoyed. Overall quality was superb and location was excellent - you can walk everywhere or hop on the train. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonianinDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#262 of 467 in New York City
2,017 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#114 of 467 in New York City
843 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#164 of 467 in New York City
1,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#166 of 467 in New York City
2,119 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#119 of 467 in New York City
1,339 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#207 of 467 in New York City
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Address: 116 West 31st Street, New York City, NY 10001-3401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Green Hotel in New York City
#95 Family Hotel in New York City
#133 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#154 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just one block from Madison Square Garden, this newly refreshed, modern hotel provides a great location for travelers looking to be walking distance to some of Manhattan’s top attractions. Catch concerts and games at MSG or walk to The Fashion Institute of Technology and see the latest fashions in the Garment District. Guests can walk to Penn Station which serves many of the city’s major subway lines and be anywhere in the city within minutes including top destinations like Times Square, Central Park and Broadway theatres. Guests will enjoy complimentary breakfast, high speed internet access, a modern fitness center and our well-equipped business center. After you’ve spent the day taking in the sights and sounds of the city, enjoy a peaceful night’s sleep in a comfortable Hampton bed®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Madison Square Garden Hotel New York City
Hampton Inn New York City
Madison Square Garden Hampton Inn
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing