We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Oakwood at 6th Avenue(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Stewart Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Hayden(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Stanford(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (2,100)
Filter reviews
2,100 results
Traveler rating
972
817
206
59
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
972
817
206
59
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspenn stationgreat locationnew yorkfree breakfastwarm cookiesrooms are smallthe breakfast areayogurtthe empire state buildingfront desk stafftwo double bedswould definitely stay here againclean hotelaround the cornerwould highly recommend this hotelfew blocksnyc hotels
Filter
Updating list...
1,182 - 1,187 of 2,100 reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2012

The Hampton Inn Madison Square Garden provides a great location if you need access to Madison Square Garden, Times Square, or the theater district. The staff is super and willing to make your stay perfect. We had truoble with some high school foreign exchange students one night deciding to make as much noise as they could around midnight on our floor. A quick call to the front desk was all that was needed to get action to quiet them down from the front desk. The breakfast was typical Hampton....hot and plentiful. The cookies in the evening were hot and yummy. Ask for an upper floor to avoid street noise (we were on the 17th out of 19). The front desk was always polite and helpful. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Get an upper room to avoid street noise.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GRAMPS99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us you thoughts on your stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with and will choose to stay with us again.

Thank you again.

Sincerely,

Hunter Angus D. Glass
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Clean and comfortable, with a decent breakfast, although at $300 a night with taxes it wasn't a particularly good value, even for New York. A difficult trip (long delays and added expense due to Hurricane Sandy) was made needlessly more difficult by the hotel's poor-quality printer. After waiting on the security line at LGA, I had to go back to the kiosks for another boarding pass because the one I printed at the hotel was of sufficiently poor quality that the bar code was unreadable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FBTreebranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that our printer was acting up, that must have been annoying. I am glad that you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us.

Sincerely,

Hunter Angus D. Glass
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

This hotel was lovely. It does not look much from the outside but the rooms were extremely comfortable with nice bathrooms. Very accessible and easy walking distance to Time Square. Madison Square Garden is at the end of the block.

Warm cookies in the evening in reception were a nice touch (and very morish!) The continental breakfast was very nice indeed with a wide selection, although the cooked breakfast was not great and was very 'artificial'.

While an expensive stay (£550 for 3 nights), you will find the majority of the hotels at this price or more expensive.

Highly recommend it for a short stay in New York.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you chhose to stay with us when your return to New York.

Sincerely,

Hunter Angus D. Glass
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Best location at a short walking distance of the Madison Square Garden and the Empire State. This hotel excels in cleanness and definitely location.
Very kind, helpful and lovely staff always willing to make your stay better and this is always something high appreciated and not always found, particularly in a big city.
Breakfast was just OK, however not very varied. There are good restaurants options nearby. Overall, it is worth a try!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank B22_A70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am very pleased that you liked our location. Many people tell me that they love being in the heart of New York and that getting anywhere in New York is so easy with the subways so close. I hope you choose to stay with us when your return to New York.

Sincerely,

Hunter Angus D. Glass
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We love this Hampton Inn! It is a great location, has wonderful breakfast every morning, warm cookies in the evening, and the rooms are nice and homey.
On top of the consistent comfort and convenience, the staff is incredible! We have stayed at this hotel a few times in the past year and each time we are amazed at the level of service that we receive.
Matthew was very welcoming and accommodating to our group, we loved his hospitality!
Darrell went above and beyond any level of service that I had received at a hotel. He found out that I was under the weather, so he went to the corner restaurant and brought chicken soup up to me on the 19th floor. I felt so taken care of, and was much better the next day!
As hospitality industry professionals, we were blown away by the amazing experience we had with this wonderful establishment. Well done Hampton Inn team!

Room Tip: Top floors are a bit more peaceful, request one if you can!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EmBarragan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review of your stay at our hotel. I am so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed being here. I hope that you will choose to stay with us again when your plans bring you back to New York City.

Sincerely,

Hunter Angus D. Glass
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews