We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel if going to Madison Square Garden” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Ranked #170 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Clinton, NJ
Level Contributor
117 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good hotel if going to Madison Square Garden”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

My daughter and I stayed here for one night after going to a concert at Madison Square Garden. The hotel was clean. The rooms were very small. We stayed in a 2 double beds room which was fine for the two of us. It would be crowded with 3 people. The bathroom had a shower, but was roomier than I expected. There are 2 elevator's which is fine except for evening and morning. You may have to wait for awhile to get on. The location was great if you want to be near Madison Square Garden. The price was very good compared to other hotels in NYC. It included a standard type breakfast which made the price even better. I would recommend staying here if you are just coming in for an event at MSG, otherwise I would stay somewhere a little roomier.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Madison Square Garden. As you mentioned, we are just down the street and easy to get to for people attend events at the Garden. I am sorry that you found our rooms to be small, but you are right, compared to hotels outside New York, our rooms are small; New York is famous for small hotels rooms. I am very pleased that you found us to be clean and comfortable and I am glead you enjoyed our Breakfast Buffet.

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, and I hope that when you attend another event at Madison Square Garden, that you will choose to stay with us again.

Thank you,

Hunter Angus D. Glass
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    821
    722
    185
    55
    38
See reviews for
675
450
105
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

Nice hotel, good location, centrally located near NY Penn Station, 33rd Street Path and 34th Street stations (3 mins wal from each) Near Macy's, opposite Jacks 99 Cent store. 5 Minutes away from empire state building, 10 minutes away from times square on 7th avenue
small but clean and well equipped rooms - stayed in one with a comfortable king size bed, a couch and a small workspace with flat screen TV- free wifi, free breakfast (on paper plates though). Good options for food - Large food court restaurant opposite "Cafe R" offering wide variety of cuisine including Pastas, Korean food among others. Room walls are a bit thin with some noise from doors closing etc. Worth the price

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arunkmurthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Dear Guest,

I LOVE Cafe R !! We are so lucky to have them right across the street. They have great food and other items and they are open 24 hours a day!

I am very pleased that you enjoyed our location! This hotel is very central as you pointed out. Thank you for mentioning the door noises. Because of this comment, I have asked our Engineers to check every door in the hotel and make sure that they close properly, but quietly, so thank you!

I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed our newly expanded complimentary Breakfast Buffet! We are constantly trying to enure that we offer a delicious way to start your day!

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, and i hope that you decide to stay with us again in the future!

Sincerely,

Hunter Angus D. Glass
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
Level Contributor
136 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

Choosing a hotel in NYC can be a very difficult thing. There are lots of high end extremely expensive hotels, above average very expensive hotels, and there are some questionable places. With the worry about bed bugs I researched this property before booking and it did not have any instances reported. Some of the ritzier hotels can not claim that!

The Hampton Inn is conveniently located about one block from Madison Square Gardens/Penn Station. It is clean, reasonably priced (I used my AAA for a discount), offers a nice breakfast and the staff was pleasant and welcoming. I rated it high because compared to other hotels I looked at, this was a great choice for the value, had no bugs and I was very pleased.

Typical for the crowded city, the room was small and the bath was a shower only. No big deal for me as it was only a place to sleep. I got a room with two "queen" beds. The bed was comfortable enough...nothing special... and the actual bed size was more full/ double and not at all near a queen size. Over-sized travelers be warned! The towels were older and not very fluffy but they were clean and I had enough of them. Only negative in the bath was there were no cups for rinsing after brushing my teeth.

The breakfast was very nice. Eggs, make your own waffles, muffins and toast, oatmeal, yogurt, cereal, juices and coffee/tea were available. I am sure I missed some items too. Everything was fresh and plentiful and the breakfast area was bright and clean.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NifT33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review about our hotel. I can be very difficult to decide where to stay in New York with so many choices, so i thank you for choosing to stay with us!

I was very pleased to read this review and the nice things you had to say about our hotel. I'm sorry that you were expecting two queen beds in our double rooms. As you found, we have rooms with either one King, one Queen, or two Double beds. I'm sorry that wasn't clear.

I am very please that you enjoyed our complimentary Breakfast Buffet, we have added a few new touches and it's nice to hear that you enjoyed them!

I hope that you choose us again when your plans bring you back to New York.

Thanks again!

Sincerely,

Hunter Angus D. Glass
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission, Kansas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

This hotel served our purpose just fine. We were looking for a centrally located hotel, close to public transport and walking distance to attractions. Madison Square Garden is just around the corner, and there is a subway stop about a half block away. The room with two double beds was a tight fit for four adults as they was very little space to place luggage, but we weren't in the room much when we were awake. The bathroom was big enough to give us room to get ready. Elevators were a little slow to arrive on each floor. The free breakfast was great, and there is a 24-hour shop across the street that sells food, drinks, desserts, anything you need for a late night snack.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stacytina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Dear Guest,

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! I am very happy that you found our location to be just what you were looking for. I agree, it is so easy to get anywhere in New York from here. We are minutes from the 7th and 6th Ave Subways, steps from Penn Station and a short walk to Times Square and many other attractions.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed our newly expanded complimentary Breakfast Buffet! We continue to strive to have the best guest experience possible.


Thank you for writing this review, and I hope that when you return to New York, that you will choose to stay with us again.

Thank you,

Sincerely,

Hunter Angus D. Glass
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
73 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

This hotels offers spacious and practical rooms. The bathroom was both large and nice. We had some trouble with the sink though, and our room had a funny smell. The hotel is located only minutes from 5th Avenue with all the shops making it very centrally located. It is also near and very easy to find when arriving at Penn station located only 5 minutes from the hotel.There was a simple breakfast included in the rate, nothing special, but typical for a 3 star hotel in the NYC.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacobOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
DearGuest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of our hotel. I'm pleased that you found our rooms to be spacious and practical and our bathrooms to be large and nice! I am sorry to hear about the trouble with the sink and funny smell. I will be sure to have our team take a look at this. I agree that we are nicely situated near Penn Station and within easy reach of all of New York.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and i hope that you choose to stay with us in the future.

Sincerely,

Hunter Angus D. Glass
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

Well my first time in New York and to be honest went on a deal with British Airways. Checked reviews before I went and was not disappointed when I got there. Check in was easy, staff were great and could not do enough for you. Rooms were good, clean, everything worked and the free wifi was great. Good breakfast and taking a hot drink 24/7 from the restuarant was a good touch. Me and the wife stayed there from 28th to 31st October. Now here is the only concern. You check put at 12 noon and we had the maid knocking on our door from 8 asking when we were leaving. On the third occasion she got the message not till 12 noon. Only cplaint and hotel had easy access to all main attractions.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

I am so pleased that you chose to stay with us for your first trip to New York, and I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us!

I am sorry that our housekeeper knocked on your door at 8 in the morning, I will mention this to our Executive Housekeeper and use this as a training point at our next meeting. I am very pleased that you found our staff to be "great"! I will be sure to share this with the Team as well, thank you!

I am pleased that you found our rooms to be clean and our hotel to be in a location that is accessible to the major attractions. I hope that next time you come to New York, that you will choose to stay with us again!

Sincerely,

Hunter Angus D. Glass
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

Great location. Hotel very clean, room small but comfortable for 2. Good King-size bed. Nice breakfast with many choies. Tea/coffee machine available 24/7 for free. Helpful staff. Ask for a room as high as possible in the floors! One bad aspect: you hear a lot when people go in or out the rooms next door. But we REALLY enjoyed our stay there a lot and would definitively recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mone_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially our newly improved complimentary Breakfast Buffet.

The rest of the Team will be thrilled to hear that you found your room to be clean and the staff to be helpful.

I hope that when you return to New York you will choose to stay with us again.

Thank you!

Sincerely,

Hunter Angus D. Glass
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#118 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#156 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,786 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#115 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#175 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#178 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#272 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Address: 116 West 31st Street, New York City, NY 10001-3401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Green Hotel in New York City
#97 Family Hotel in New York City
#136 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#158 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just one block from Madison Square Garden, this hotel provides a great location for travelers looking to be walking distance to some of Manhattan’s top attractions. Catch concerts and games at MSG or walk to The Fashion Institute of Technology and see the latest fashions in the Garment District. Guests can walk to Penn Station which serves many of the city’s major subway lines and be anywhere in the city within minutes including top destinations like Times Square, Central Park and Broadway theatres. Guests will enjoy complimentary breakfast, high speed internet access, a modern fitness center and our well-equipped business center. After you’ve spent the day taking in the sights and sounds of the city, enjoy a peaceful night’s sleep in a comfortable Hampton bed®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Madison Square Garden Hotel New York City
Hampton Inn New York City
Madison Square Garden Hampton Inn
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing