We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and Intimate”
Review of Rice 'N' Beans

Rice 'N' Beans
Reserve with OpenTable
Rice 'N' Beans is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,187 of 13,763 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Brazilian, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Midtown
Description: Authentic Brazilian Cuisine
Dayton, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Small and Intimate”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We ate at this small Brazilian restaurant one night before going to the theatre. The service was quick and friendly. We started off with an assorted appetizer platter of cheese puffs, fried sweet plantain and fried yucca. Wished for some sort of dipping sauce for yucca. It was on the dry side. One of us ordered the rice, bean and sauteed vegies. She thought it was good but felt it needed seasoning. I ordered the Black Bean soup and an avocado salad. Both of those were tasty. Spouse had the sauteed chicken with okra. He was very satisfied with his order.
We enjoy experiencing foods of other countries. This was our first Brazilian food. We spent $51.00 not including tax or drinks.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Poodletoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    48
    10
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
“Small and Charming”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We happened upon this restaurant by accident, but we were glad we did. The food was simple yet flavorful. It was small and intimate. The chicken leblon was yummy!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Victoria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Intimate and delicious”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is a very small restaurant near the theater district with a Brazilian menu. The rice, beans and plantains dish was very tasty. Ditto for the roasted chicken, the black bean soup, and the chicken risotto with fried plantains. Very quiet, very intimate. Just don't sit by the door if it's cold outside!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nina5136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paramaribo, Suriname
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Certainly not the best brazilian, although my first in NY cannot believe this is a standard.”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Went to this restaurant with my daughter for one of our favourite brazilian dishes: feijoada.
Did get plenty, nice little pot but that was about it, got plain rice, a bit of farofa and only after i specifically requested it, no vinaigrette. Why do I complain, because I expected after reading some reviews a proper brazilian dish served how it should especially in a restaurant.
Service was poor, although a friendly young man served us we did have to remind him of our specific orders, his excuse he worked the whole day...should not be my problem right.
If all that was not enough there was a scene between a customer and the lady serving her. Did not appreciate it, and I do think the customer over reacted the staff should never have yelled over the heads of other customers trying to enjoy their meal. And then she wanted to explain over and over again that the customer was wrong.
I mean we're talking about a tiny restaurant here, we've all seen and heard what happened.
bottemline, would i go there again no, would i recommend it to anyone : no

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie66_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka Springs
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Authentic”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is a tiny hole in the wall restaurant near the Broadway theaters. Decor is plain and simple, but quite acceptable. I had the house special casserole for $22. It was good and filling. I understand that it was authentic Brazilian.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CoachBChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rice 'N' Beans also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Rice 'N' Beans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing