We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great new addition”
Review of The Marlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Marlton Hotel
Ranked #112 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great new addition”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

The gradual gentrification of 8th street has had its ups and downs. Happened to stop into what was an old flophouse for most of my life after I noticed that it too had been redone. Very nice indeed. Pleasant entrance with fireplace and a quiet place for breakfast and lunch in the back under glass. The fake greenery could use a little more sophistication, but the idea is nice. Sort of Mediterranean/Caribbean with space between the tables and a pleasant acoustic. Dinner is jumping. Excellent waitstaff that has made this my new go to place for breakfast and a lingering inexpensive lunch. Less of a scene than Balthazar, Pastis, etc, and a more interesting. healthy menu that they will fine tune for you, i.e. lots of kale, quinoa, avocado, etc. if you are so inclined. Good coffee and passable espresso. More pleasant dining spot all-around than the North Square which had been my hotel spot for guests.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Schipa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    219
    44
    13
    7
See reviews for
64
287
65
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

1. Quaint entrance and bar
2. Tiny room but clean
3. Amazing restaurant downstairs for breakfast!
4. Room service was not very attentive. Had to ask for slippers three times before we got them, finally on the second day.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Punam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penryn, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

My husband and I spent a delightful weekend recently at this hotel. From an incredibly early check in to friendly accommodating staff and everything in between including nice rooms with comfortable beds and great sheets to a great night scene and restaurant; we could not have asked for more. A european flair in its design made the entire experience charming. Highly recommend and we will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Harleysmomxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel - beautifully decorated and very well located near Soho and the Village and easy stroll to Meatpackers district and the High Line. Be prepared - the rooms are tiny! But very well arranged so you miss for nothing except space. Restaurant and bar are terrific. The whole vibe is like a small boutique Parisian hotel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaBeeSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loxahatchee, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

What a wonderful place to stay! Special in every way. White glove service at every turn. The building is magnificently renovated! Someone very clever designed the interior spaces maintaining the beauty of the past, but mixing it up with nouvelle touches.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janney8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Originally I booked this based on a crazy good price. And also knowing it was from Sean MacPherson of the Bowery hotel I figured it was definitely worth a try.For me , it is quite different than my usual trendy contemporary choices. This is like stepping back in time, but in a very good way! Even being in the village was a bit of a throwback to me since I hadn't been here lately and forgot how great it was.
Refurbished to its original beauty with modern touches, like great lighting and a really good shower.The lobby bar with a fireplace and bar service is extremely inviting and the restaurant is very good. This is my second stay. The first was in January .The back patio is something that I didn't see the first time but really adds to the whole. European feel. They even have breakfast included like the small European hotels.And big key chains which I didn't realize that you could leave at the front desk (another Euro touch).But as old world as it seems, it actually is the new trend ! Add in the really good pleasant staff and you have one of the most comfortable stays in New York.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelmoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acworth, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

A small classy European-style hotel. We've certainly have had hotel rooms that were much larger, but the character (and the location near Washington Square in Greenwich Village) this hotel has was way worth the small rooms. Our room was just large enough for the bed, we kept our suitcase under the bed. The bathroom was a decent size in comparison to the room, there was room to move around and the roomy shower was nice. There was also a closet which contained an iron and ironing board, a safe, refrigerator and snacks. The room contained a nice bonus of robe and slippers to wear while there. Also, we were thankful for the umbrella provided in the room, we did use it. The hallways are narrow, but there was a door between the elevator and the hall which cut down on noise. Being the closest room to the elevator, our room was still very quite. We heard very little hall noise and no outside noise (cars, trucks, sirens etc.). The lobby had a sitting area with couches and chairs where you could get coffee. There was also a bar and very nice restaurant on the ground level. Our room also came with a continental breakfast which was a nice surprise. The door man was helpful in securing a taxi when needed, even if we had to go to 5th Avenue to get it. Everyone was very nice and helpul.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheri-inAcworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#118 of 467 in New York City
973 reviews
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#147 of 467 in New York City
1,437 reviews
Hyatt Union Square New York
#116 of 467 in New York City
1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#168 of 467 in New York City
692 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#82 of 467 in New York City
915 reviews
East Village
The Bowery Hotel
The Bowery Hotel
#185 of 467 in New York City
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marlton Hotel

Property: The Marlton Hotel
Address: 5 W 8th St, New York City, NY 10011-9099
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Greenwich Village
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Marlton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the Marlton Hotel, located in the heart of Greenwich Village, comes the latest vision of Hotelier Sean MacPherson. This elegantly restored landmark building was formerly a home to famous artistic figures of the Bohemian and Beat movements, ‘most notably Jack Kerouac’. MacPherson redesigned the property by combining the original architecture with updated French influences for a look inspired by Paris and Greenwich Village history. This “baby grand” hotel guest rooms are charmingly petite yet grand in décor. Guest rooms feature herringbone wood floors, brass fixtures, crown moldings, and marble bathrooms.The ground floor of the property features a 100-seat restaurant with a coffee bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The Marlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing