We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Genuinely charming hotel on a human scale”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Marlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Marlton Hotel
Ranked #110 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Genuinely charming hotel on a human scale”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

I stayed for one night in The Marlton for a business trip and was immediately struck by the relaxed non-formula stance of this (new) hotel near Washington Square. The room wasn't large, but it wasn't small either - reminded me of a small hotel in France - but any compromise on square footage was amply made up by a very comfortable and good night's sleep. But if you have lots of work to do in your room this might not be the place for you as there's no desk (unless you're Woody Allen who writes all his scripts in bed). The minbar is stocked with every indulgence you could wish for.

The bathroom was pristine, with an air of continental lux but not overtly so. The soap and shampoo are all Cote de Bastide... what more could you ask for?! My room (203) had a huge bath-tub too and brass taps and a big shower head.

The communal areas downstairs are a bit studied with low lighting levels but that's a trifle considering the charming and helpful staff, the excellent bar - perfect vodka martini - and genuinely easy and unselfconscious atmosphere. I would happily spend a few hours here - it's just like that. What's more, the other guests looked as if they did interesting things with their lives, they weren't just the same predictable faces.

Having spent a full day out working, it was a pleasure to step back in through the front door and shed the big city. Hotels are famously, ridiculously, expensive in NYC, but the Marlton is most reasonable. I will certainly fix a room here on my next trip.

Room Tip: 203, a queen bed at the front on the second floor - but the road out front isn't noisy at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cuvee63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    206
    43
    12
    7
See reviews for
60
273
63
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

I booked the Marlton at the last minute,it was the cheapest hotel I could find with a decent location in NYC. I was not disappointed!

On arrival the staff were really friendly and helpful, top marks for that. The room was "compact" but I wouldn't expect anything else in New York. They were nicely decorated, the bed was really comfortable and the bath was huge. The hotel had a very cosy feel with a lovely bar area.

Location-wise it was perfect for us (a couple in our late 20s), the area seemed quite trendy with tons of bars and restaurants in the area, every cuisine is catered for. We walked to Times Square and Empire State etc from here in around 30 minutes, SoHo and downtown areas are within easy walking distance although unfortunately we didn't have time to explore everywhere during this stay.

There weren't any dining facilities at the hotel, although there were plenty of cafes and restaurants nearby so this wasn't a problem.

When I return to New York I will definitely stay here again. The location and value for money were amazing.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fewborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietrasanta, Italy
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

This boutique hotel with its' young and very pleasant staff is a good place to stay if:

You are NOT traveling for business. There is no surface large enough to even sit and write a postcard in the lovely, petite, beautifully decorated rooms. The only work space is the bed...and if you are big and if there are two of you...well the beds are an American double. Need two rooms?

You love the one you are with and he/she does not have a lot of luggage; there is only under-bed storage. I guess you could store your Vuitton trunk in the luggage room.

You are not so old that you want to yell, " Can you please turn up the lighting a bit in the lobby? "

You don't mind the private events, in the small public space, trump paying hotel guests, so you can't have an after dinner drink and can only return to your cozy room to sit on the bed with your friends, and I mean close friends, and drink from the mini-bar. Staff member's response was the standard brush-off line, " We are terribly sorry for the inconvenience..." but didn't extend to offering you any alternative...maybe bringing you a drink from the bar?

This being said the hotel was as clean as a whistle, the cleaning staff was lovely and nice and very efficient. The view from our room ( 815 ), looking west towards the Hudson, was lovely...oops! The hotel really needs screens; the mosquitoes were fierce, if like me, you hate running air-conditioning and love a bit of air. There are no black out curtains; get your yoga sun salutations going.

WIFI was very good and included in the price of the room and the free coffee with a very competent barrister in the lobby was a treat! Cozy lobby feels more like a nice private university club.

I would stay here again when I'm back in NYC. Good value.

Room Tip: High floor, facing the rear. My room 815 had nice views and was very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CHERIEParisFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

I took a quick trip to NYC for the weekend. The hotel was easy to find, about equidistant between the 2 subway lines. The rooms, as mentioned in other reviews, are on the smallish side, but they are quite nice.

The bed is very comfortable. Amenities include in-room safe, robe, hairdryer, and the standard toiletries. My room faced the street which was great, except in the middle of the night when revel-makers decided to loudly proclaim their amusement and first thing in the morning when the construction workers reported to duty on the rehab building across the street.

There's free coffee beverages made to order in the mornings. There's also an inviting lobby/bar area to end your evening by the fireplace.

I would definitely return to The Marlton.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank jetsetjordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is really pretty, clean, calm, cosy, with confortable beds. You have everything needed in the bathrooms (good hairdryer, shampoo, ...). You can start your day with very good cappucino for free. The location is perfect to visit NYC (with 2 subway lines really closed). The staff is really nice (especially Jose).
I would definitely come back to this hotel!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cogiteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Just stayed at this hotel with the wife and was a mixed bag. Location is excellent and the price was fair for the area. Staff is mixed (some nice, some a bit off). Room is very small - very Parisian in that sense - in line with standards in Europe but may not be well received by some Americans. Bed is comfortable. Keys seem to be problematic and we were woken up both nights at 4am or so by other guests struggling with their doors and loudly expressing frustration. It seems they are still in start-up mode - I would give them another chance if only for the great location.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank akbadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selkirk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed at the Marlton on W 8th Street for 4 days, looking for that "living in Manhattan" experience. We loved the hotel, it's location in the heart of Greenwich Village, the staff, the "feel" of the place. As I write, I 'm sitting in the lobby, drinking a coffee and watching the world go by on 8th Street. I could stay here all day, but there is so much to see and do in the neighbourhood.
The room is smallish but there are period features throughout, the bathroom is great and it's a nice place to stay. The bed, by the way, is super comfy.
We can't wait to come back. Loved it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PDRfraeSelirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#106 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#158 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
Hyatt Union Square New York
#124 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#180 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#86 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
East Village
The Bowery Hotel
The Bowery Hotel
#152 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marlton Hotel

Property: The Marlton Hotel
Address: 5 W 8th St, New York City, NY 10011-9099
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Greenwich Village
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Marlton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the Marlton Hotel, located in the heart of Greenwich Village, comes the latest vision of Hotelier Sean MacPherson. This elegantly restored landmark building was formerly a home to famous artistic figures of the Bohemian and Beat movements, ‘most notably Jack Kerouac’. MacPherson redesigned the property by combining the original architecture with updated French influences for a look inspired by Paris and Greenwich Village history. This “baby grand” hotel guest rooms are charmingly petite yet grand in décor. Guest rooms feature herringbone wood floors, brass fixtures, crown moldings, and marble bathrooms.The ground floor of the property features a 100-seat restaurant with a coffee bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Marlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing