We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently Reliable”
Review of E.A.T.

E.A.T.
Ranked #4,263 of 13,633 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Upper East Side
nyc
2 reviews
“Consistently Reliable”
Reviewed December 11, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This UES Eli Zabar restaurant is consistently reliable in offering inventive dishes made with the freshest ingredients, some grown by Mr. Zabar. Bar menu less expensive than regular menu and can be ordered in the dining room.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank simonesignoret33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    100
    73
    37
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
83 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good food but pricey”
Reviewed December 3, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Stopped in with my wife for a quick lunch. Turkey club and grilled cheese, coffee and a Coke. $70! Good by a bit too much.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marvin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
148 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I was in the area this week and wanted to grab a quick bite before my next appointment. While I had purchased a few items from their carry out section, I never had lunch in the restaurant portion of the establishment.

Boy, was I shocked at the prices. Now I am in NYC every week, and have dined at many restaurants and small "boutique" restaurants as well, but I have never paid $26 for a grilled Caesar's Chicken salad before. In fact, all of the items on the menu were overpriced. $18 for a simple sandwich is obscene. The salad and a 7 oz bottle of diet coke cost me $32.

Thank you but no thank you.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
389 reviews
272 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“to eat cheap considering you are in manhattan up side east”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

You can purchase food to carry or it in the place
The place is crowded and noisy
The qaultiy fo the food is good

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ezini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ribas, portugal
Level Contributor
81 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Food not special, prices idiotic”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

From the outside the place looks like a regular neighborhood deli. Inside I was shocked by the prices. The country sandwich I had was good, but nothing special. And certainly not worth what they charge you for. Never again will they see me here and I urge others to avoid the place too.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank arie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed E.A.T. also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to E.A.T.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing