We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went here after seeing Stomp and was not disappointed”
Review of Via Della Pace

Via Della Pace
Ranked #102 of 13,774 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $3 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: East Village
Cross street: Between 1st & 2nd Avenue
Transit: From Astor Place Station (6 Train): Proceed in east direction from Astor Place towards E 8th St (213ft). Turn right in Cooper Square(259ft). Turn left in E 7th Street (0,2 mi). From 8th St- NYU (R W Train): Proceed in sud east direction from E 8th St. toward Lafayette street ( 0,1 mi). Turn right in Cooper Square(259ft). Turn left in E 7th St.
Description: Via Della Pace is known for it’s unique and reasonably priced Italian cuisine, and for it’s extensive wine list and exclusive atmosphere. Truly one of the Lower East Side’s hidden gems, Via Della Pace offers great music and authentic food
Reviewed August 21, 2016 via mobile

Me and my kids went there after seeing stomp and the pasta was awesome. My daughter had gnocchi, I had the special seafood risotto and my son the pasta with marinara

Everything was excellent!
My only complaint is that is it cash only.
Service was good and no wait. Very enjoyable!

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank TDNY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
vdpnyc, General Manager at Via Della Pace, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2017

That makes us so happy!! Thank you darling see you soon! Grazie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (980)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 162 of 980 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2016 via mobile

First, the restaurant is CASH only. No credit cards. Prices are reasonable. We went on a Friday night, early, and had no wait for a table. Tables are tight.

We ordered the meat and cheese antipasto. Meats were mortadella, prosciutto and some type of salami. Meats were average. Cheese were two types, one of them provolone. Both were ok.

For dinner, we ordered pasta carbonara and amatriciana. Pasta was cooked to order, al dente. Sauces were disappointing. Carbonara was too cheesy and amatriciana, too oily. For the amatriciana, I was unable to enjoy the sauce after I ate the pasta. Also, pasta were 13.50 each, for NYC, reasonable.

Overall, disappointing. With the rave reviews from T/A, I was expecting a meal similar to a dish from Italy, but left disappointed.

Date of visit: August 2016
2  Thank AndiamoAMagna
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
vdpnyc, General Manager at Via Della Pace, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2017

Sorry to hear you didn't have the best experience with us. In general we have to say that Roman cuisine is not so light, and in this case oil and cheese are the highlights of the meals. Anyway we would really love to have a second chance with you. Hope to see you here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2016 via mobile

Authentic, friendly, and very good. Visited our granddaughter in the City. Rush hour overwhelmed us Texas folks, so after hitting a happy hour we found ourselves to be 800ft (thanks to TA) and toddled in. We ordered 3 different plates and were offered lemon liqueur as a treat. Waiter very friendly, loved the purple hair!
Remember, authentic, so don't expect Olive Garden selections. Lovely experience.

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank 63901pb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
vdpnyc, General Manager at Via Della Pace, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2017

Thank you very much very happy to know that you had good time. We hope to see you soon grazie!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2016 via mobile

Excellent food.
Excellent staff
Great place to relax to great music and enjoy your food.
I would recommend this place to everyone.
I am a vegan and couldn't decide what I want, the waiter was patient and kind.
My mother is a picky eater and she ordered the ravioli lobster and mumbled...this is good..
I laughed...
That meant a lot.
Great place to dine.

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank Ribqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
vdpnyc, General Manager at Via Della Pace, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2017

Thank you so much for that! We're happy to know you had good time with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2016 via mobile

Via Della Pace is a great little spot. Authentic Italian fair. Knowledgable experienced staff. It is a nice intimate dining room where a table of 2 can enjoy a romantic dinner or 10 friends can share bottles of wine and apps while watching the game. If you are looking for a great Italian experience in NYC, look no further

Date of visit: December 2015
Thank IonceAteAGoldfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
vdpnyc, General Manager at Via Della Pace, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2017

Wow that's just amazing to hear!! Thank you so much see you soon darling

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Via Della Pace also viewed

 

Been to Via Della Pace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.