We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A favorite!!”
Review of Via Della Pace

Via Della Pace
Reserve with OpenTable
Via Della Pace is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #35 of 13,743 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: East Village
Cross street: Between 1st & 2nd Avenue
Transit: From Astor Place Station (6 Train): Proceed in east direction from Astor Place towards E 8th St (213ft). Turn right in Cooper Square(259ft). Turn left in E 7th Street (0,2 mi). From 8th St- NYU (R W Train): Proceed in sud east direction from E 8th St. toward Lafayette street ( 0,1 mi). Turn right in Cooper Square(259ft). Turn left in E 7th St.
Description: Via Della Pace is known for it’s unique and reasonably priced Italian cuisine, and for it’s extensive wine list and exclusive atmosphere. Truly one of the Lower East Side’s hidden gems, Via Della Pace offers great music and authentic food
Maine, United States
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A favorite!!”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

We loved the atmosphere, the food was fantastic and the wait staff and I believe the owner could not have been nicer. Good pace and felt very comfortable and well cared for. I had the asparagus salad, it was absolutely fabulous, I can still think back to how wonderful it was.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vdpnyc, Manager at Via Della Pace, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thanks Elaine very much for the amazing review!
We can't wait to have you our guest again!
Ciao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    506
    183
    47
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant is absolutely unique.
I had excellent "penne alla Pirata", Straccetti with arugula... and I enjoyed the ambience a lot -warm, friendly. The owner, Giovanni is a rockstar.:)

Helpful?
Thank Carlo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vdpnyc, Manager at Via Della Pace, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Ciao Carlo!

Thanks a lot for the great review!
Giovanni send a big "rock and roll" hug!
A presto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Incredible - outstanding !!”
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

We had one of the best dinners EVER!
The quality of the food is really excellent, every thing was so fresh and delicious. The chef must be definitely Italian. AMAZING CARBONARA!
We'll come back soon for sure.

Helpful?
Thank JuriFI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vdpnyc, Manager at Via Della Pace, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thanks so much Juri for your wonderful review!
Glad to know you liked our carbonara, we really use the best ingredients possible in order to have a unique and authentic flavor.
See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Local Bar Restaurant (especially if you are missing Italy)”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

We love this place and if we lived in the neighborhood, we'd be their Norm from Cheers. We've gone for dinner and for drinks at the bar, with a large crowd or just two of us and every visit has been fun and comfortable and real. This is a village local spot that has the feel of a Roman trattoria. It is not uncommon to post up at the bar and find yourself next to some folks that are chatting away in Italian or to look up at the TV over the bar and see an Italian language film, all of which adds to the charm and atmosphere of the place.

The cocktails are good and properly made and they usually have a giant vat (or two) of Sangria available, which is always a good choice. They have a great selection of bruschetta and a terrific salumi and cheese platter, which make for perfect bar nibbles. You can also eat a full meal at the bar or at one of the candle lit tables.

Via Della Pace does not take plastic, so have cash on hand.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vdpnyc, Manager at Via Della Pace, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thanks Dee for your amazing review!
Hope to see you soon!
Ciao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pella, Iowa, United States
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Mostly good, but one red flag”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We had dinner here on a Saturday evening. We arrived early for our reservation and were agile to be seated right away. This is a very small, intimate location. It kind of feels like dining in your grandmothers oversize eat in kitchen. Not bad, very quaint. Overall the food was good, not great. Not the best Italian I've ever had, but not the worst. The one red flag and exception to this was the sausage in the specialty dish my husband ordered. I will see, he never, ever makes a complaint about his food to a waiter...but on this occasion it did. The sausage was inedible as it was completely dried out and nearly black. It appeared to have been reheated, or somehow majorly, majorly overcooked. Hard to imagine a chef letting it get out of his kitchen actually. There was no replacement dish offered, but the entire entree was removed from our bill. My husband ate around the charred sausage chunk. But, it kind of made you go hmmm. I had the gnocchi special which again was good, but not amazing. The other two members in our party said theirs was again good, but no one was raving over their dishes. Overall, it's a quaint place with average food.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sherry V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vdpnyc, Manager at Via Della Pace, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Hi Sherry,
we really apologize for the inconvenience that happened to your husband.
Our kitchen staff always take enormous care of their dishes, for sure that day was a bad mistake.
We are well known for the quality of our food and we cant permit to these things to happen, thanks to let us know.

We already apologized waiving the dish from your bill, but we would like you to contact us at vdpnyc@yahoo.com in order to have your family again to our restaurant.
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Via Della Pace also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Via Della Pace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing