We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch a game and catch up”

Brother Jimmy's BBQ
Ranked #4,374 of 13,678 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery
Neighborhood: Upper East Side
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Watch a game and catch up”
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Met some friends from college here to watch our basketball team. Food was pretty good and service was alright. Great atmosphere to watch the game and catch up with old friends.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eurozone1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    35
    15
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disgusting, tasteless food!”
Reviewed March 2, 2012

We ordered about $60 worth of food for takeaway to try this place out. We were both sorely disappointed after getting it home (we waited 45mins +) and will NEVER patron this place ever again!! I've had better fries and onion rings at Burger King. The portion sizes were not great and the fried jalapeños/pickles were awful, tasteless actually! Normally frying any food can make it taste good but not here.
AVOID!!

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NYCIrish1302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Impressed!”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We went here after a show and were very impressed! It's a bit dated, but the food was really good and the service was outstanding! We had children with us and they catered to us very well. They had the best brussel sprouts I've ever had! The ribs were excellent, we enjoyed everything!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank daffund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
91 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Fun and good food”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Went here during a rowdy Friday night, and was impressed with how fast and attentive the staff was during a hectic time. Very good southern fare, even down to the Abita amber beers.We sat in the back room and had one of their fishbowl drinks which was a great laugh, tasted good and gave me a plastic lizzard/croc to hand out a present to my kid. Had the happy hour specials of sliders with brisket, chicken, and then ordered more stuff like "frikkles" a.k.a fried pickles. Yumm!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank SSSteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Okay for sports watching”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

There are several Brother Jimmy's all over the city and they're generally good places to watch ACC sports.

The atmosphere is good, but the food is so-so and I suspect that on one occasion at the Union Square location the beer was watered down. I think the one around 32nd street is probably the best.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank kjb3h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brother Jimmy's BBQ also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Brother Jimmy's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing