We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quintessential NYC bar”

Smith's Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #886 of 13,823 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Midtown
nj
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quintessential NYC bar”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed at the hotel across the street so Smith’s was perfect for a quick cocktail. We sat at the bar, ordered a bloody mary…asked the bartender if he makes good ones and he confidently replies “yes”…and he’s right, pretty good.
We ordered the sliders as a snack. They were tasty. We liked the atmosphere of a NYC bar. Great vibe.

Although a woman came in, sat at the bar and the bartender asked 4-5 times what she’d like. She said she hadn’t decided. He clearly knew this wasn’t a good sign and made sure she was to leave immediately. I was so thankful for his persistence.

Wish we would’ve purchased the Men’s t-shirt and woman’s tank top…but the manager wasn’t in yet. And we never made it back in. Which is fine, it’s an excuse to go back! =)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aztcdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    277
    114
    44
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grenoble, France
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great bar and restaurant”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

This restaurant is quite big, even if you're staying at the bar there's a lot of space.
The service is quick, the burgers and mexican specialties very good. There is a large choice of dishes and beverages.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank soso1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“First visit - Great! Second Visit - Not so great..”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Both times we visited Smith's bar & restaurant the food was brilliant.

Our first visit was possibly the best night of our trip to NYC. Amazing food, great American cider and live music.

The only downside to our second visit was that the waitress was terrible, she made it very apparent that she could not be bothered to serve us and was dying to get home.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice drinks .....”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

And nice bar area. Didn't eat here, although was very busy. Bar staff were friendly and helpful. Good range of drinks.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank No1cornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great bar”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Good view and a good voice of drinks, ate here twice as was facing the hotel so not far to stagger back!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smith's Bar and Restaurant also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Smith's Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing