We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tapas in Midtown”
Review of Solera

Solera
Ranked #6,896 of 13,754 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $50 - $75
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: at Third Avenue
Transit: 6 train (51 st /Lex), M and E trains (53 rd / Lex)
Cortlandt Manor, New York
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Tapas in Midtown”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

A glass of Rioja, some slices of Jamon, and a hot bowl of Angulas in garlic butter and I felt like I was on a side street in Madrid. Wonderful service, an ample selection of Spanish wines, a charming dinning room and a menu full of Iberian delights made for a very satisfying dinning experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wbrucec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, Guest Relations Manager at Solera, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback! We are so pleased we were able to transport you back to Spain with our food. We hope to serve you again soon soon!

Salute,
Solera Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    26
    11
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY/NJ
Level 6 Contributor
426 reviews
305 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I' been here a handful of times and one thing I noticed this time around was "regulars", meaning the same people I've seen, sitting in the same place, year after year. Regardless, I had a great lunch and look forward to my annual wine dinner here in March.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank pensfan58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, Guest Relations Manager at Solera, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thanks so much for sharing your thought with us. We appreciate your continued patronage and hope to see you again the next time you're in NYC!

Salud,
Solera Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
678 reviews
517 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“Festive, Fun, Fit for Foodies”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Spanish in NYC this place is a long standing favorite of our dinner companions. We were in complete agreement by the end of the evening. We began with Spanish sparkling wine followed by appetizer bites including empanada, steak, bacon wrapped scallop which were all excellent and whetted our appetites as we contemplated the menu. Our group chose lamb chops, monk fish in mushroom consommé, salmon pieces and a hanger steak. Each item was temperature perfect and presented in an attractive manner. The olives and fresh bread were a fine accompaniment. We also enjoyed a shared order of stuffed peppers wrapped with Spanish ham which were just too good. With dinner the group tried wines by the glass and the wine steward gave the ladies several tastes to settle which white wine they wanted. One of the males ordered a bold red and I enjoyed a very full martini up with olives. Despite knowing better we ordered dessert and the fig ice cream and hot brownie and lemon flavored flan competed with one another for best of show! This restaurant is reasonable by NYC standards and deserves a second visit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYCRestaurant, Guest Relations Manager at Solera, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Hi James,

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your positive experience with us! We are so pleased you and your friends had a great time and we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again!

To next time,
Solera Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernardsville, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A nice Tapas choice”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Saw some reviews that were no flattering, but we fully enjoyed the selection of tapas and the environment. THe bar is noice and very accomodating to fill your drink and bring it to the table when you are ready. We had a nice selection of Tapas with the Mushroooms and the Chorizo being preferred. THe empanada was also very good. We topped it off with a Paella. Very accomodating to sizing. afte fouer tapas for thre people, the Paella for one was all wee needed. The wine menu was only so so. Stick wiht the beer and cocktails.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYCRestaurant, Guest Relations Manager at Solera, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Hi Chris,

Thanks for your feedback and we are so pleased you had a great time! We hope to see you again soon.

Warmly,
Solera Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Little Spain in NYC”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

My husband and I had traveled to Granada, Spain this past summer and enjoyed eating tapas.
We came across Solera after reading other reviews on TripAdvisor. We were intrigued and decided to make a reservation because they served that style of cuisine.
The restaurant decor reminded us of some of the restaurants we had eaten at while abroad.
The food and wine were enjoyable and delicious. The service was excellent and attentive.
Should we ever be back in NYC we will definitely go back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patti H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYCRestaurant, Guest Relations Manager at Solera, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Hi Patti,

We appreciate you for writing a review about us and are glad you enjoyed your experience. If you are ever in New York, again please come and visit!

Looking forward to it!
Solera Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Solera also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Solera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing