We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummie sushi and mango mochi in a silent setting”
Review of Sushi Ann

Sushi Ann
Ranked #2,613 of 13,743 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $75
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Midtown
Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Yummie sushi and mango mochi in a silent setting”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I have been to SushiAnn twice during the last month. I had edamame, green salad with ginger dressing, eel / avocado roll, and cooked sushi plate. Edamame was heated at the right degree and with right amount of salt. Ginger dressing in the salad was so tasty. The rice in the roll was thin and I was able to taste the fish and avocado more than the rice. It was very nice to see that they had cooked sushi platters, good for sushi beginners. I had to eat cooked because of health reasons, otherwise my friends really enjoyed the real uncooked sushi and sashimi too. Finally, they had very nice selection of mochi. It was one of the best mochis I had. I tried all flavors, green tea, vanilla, strawberry and mango. Mango was my favorite. The service was very good, the restaurant was silent when compared to loudy NY restaurants. I highly recommend this place and I will go again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maliparmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    29
    16
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“impressive”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is the best sushi restaurant I have found in the US. We went there for lunch and were served a wide selection of sushi, each of which was quite fresh and well prepared. I was pleasantly surprised to find sushi this good outside of Japan. Will defintely return on a future trip to NYC.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alex261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Best sushi though a bit expensive”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Sushi Ann is my favorite sushi restaurant in the world. Ive been to Tokyo and Sushi Ann's is better! I usually order one of the sushi-sashimi combinations and the cod fish appetizer. Their unagi is phenomenal and must-try! They are a bit expensive though but wprth every penny!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank NDMorrison06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Global
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good, but expected more for Michelin mention”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Excellent fresh sushi. This is pure Japanese style, no tempura, no teriyaki or grills. Just sushi. The sushi was really good, staff were helpful and clearly knew their stuff. Ate at the counter, which was clearly the best thing to do, unless you are in a group. It's quite pricey at about 3.00 to 9.00 per sushi piece depending on what you go for, but you'll eat well for about 100 per head all in. Really nice place, but somehow didn't quite live up to the Michelin recommendation. Still, can't complain too much, overall this is a high quality sushi place with plenty of character and traditional flair.

Helpful?
Thank TheGlobalFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Outstanding Sushi”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Our favorite place in NYC to eat sushi! So many choices in NYC for sushi but this palce is among the best! With each visit we consistently have fresh sushi, with incredible service and attention from sushi chef! Sake selections are amazing!
A must try for sushi lovers!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelerfromCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Ann also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Sushi Ann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing