We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't think about cheese”

Ben's Kosher Delicatessen Restaurant & Caterers
Ranked #596 of 13,754 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Midtown
Description: To some, delicatessen is something you put between two slices of bread. To me, it's a calling. I am committed to preserving the traditional cuisine of my Eastern European heritage, amidst all that's required to operate a modern restaurant. This is our pledge, from the Ben's family to you: Fresh food, freshly prepared and courteously served in a clean, well-maintained restaurant faithfully observing the Kosher dietary laws. I urge you to bring anything less to my personal attention by calling 1-888-344-BENS or filling out my "Ask Ronnie" form and submitting it with your questions or comments. Your complete satisfaction is our goal. Any concerns will receive my prompt attention. - Ronnie Dragoon - Owner.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Don't think about cheese”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Ok so if I thought about it yes I know no meat and cheese. My husband saved me from embarrassment! Sandwiches were excellent. Pickles and slaw on the tables. Potato pancakes were especially good as was the pastrami Comfortable atmosphere. Good service.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    251
    91
    39
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Real Thing”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

What a wild and wonderful place. Go at lunchtime and be prepared to wait. It's worth it and so is the crowd. Split orders if you aren't super hungry. Love the chopped chicken liver!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank queenbeesneko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice kosher deli and restaurant”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Ben's is kosher, not kosher style, but is open 7 days a week including Friday nights and Saturdays.

Not only do they have great kosher deli -- but their entrees from stuffed cabbage to steak, to fried chicken to chicken in the pot and much more are all very good, so don't just order deli. Service is friendly, although sometimes can be a little slow, Portions are huge!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frequent001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“We wanted pastrami and their overstuffed sandwich fit the bill”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

It starts with an immigrant waiter story, or maybe the almost great but slightly off kilter decor, or maybe the coleslaw and pickles plomped on the table as soon as we arrived, or maybe just the perfect smell walking in the door. We tried the pastrami, corned beef hash, burger, the frank (yes, the frank), potato pancake, chicken noodle soup, onion rings - all superb. Kids loved the unlimited drinks. Great place for a meal. A bit pricey ($17 overstuffed sandwich) - but really good portions and really good meats. In my book, very worth it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank winterson66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Awesome NY Deli - Great Experience!”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This was by far the best meal we had last week in NYC - would definitely recommend. Great atmosphere, great service and large menu -- it was hard to decide to what to order!!!!!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jkdavis9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben's Kosher Delicatessen Restaurant & Caterers also viewed

 

Been to Ben's Kosher Delicatessen Restaurant & Caterers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing