We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hybrid”
Review of The Coffee Shop

The Coffee Shop
Reserve with OpenTable
The Coffee Shop is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,696 of 13,754 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $25 - $25
Cuisines: South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Flatiron District
Cross street: 16th Street
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
271 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Hybrid”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

I've walked by here like a gazillion times when I'm in the Union Square area. This restaurant is very special and has a unique niche because it's located on the corner of the Union Square park area. The subway trains are 4/5/6/N/Q/R/L, it is very easy to get here from almost anywhere in the city. They're a casual coffee shop hang out place during the day, then they serve drinks at the bar at night, the best of both worlds. There are people hanging out here both day and night. They also have outdoor seating so you can enjoy the nice weather. I had an appointment at 8:00am, so I stopped in here for coffee and french toast, nothing special, but decent, good quality food and service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank QueenoftheHighways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    103
    62
    24
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia, pa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Union Square classic”
Reviewed December 17, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Great central diner style hangout. Breakfast was perfect. Bustling and cozy. Probably gets the 'trendy' label but we were with great friends and had an awesome time.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank pjemme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Best in the neighborhood”
Reviewed December 17, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

If you're in the area, definitely worth stopping by this place. Food is pretty good, great decor. Prior to say, 5 PM on weekdays, you should expect to be able to get a seat at the bar or table easily. Evenings and weekends you'll find it's a bit more packed.

Ask the bartender for a rum + vanilla milkshake! Delicious.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank MusikAnimal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

The Coffee Shop at the North West corner of Union Square has always been a favorite of mine for breakfast

Fast service, good food, great price; honestly what more can you ask for.

Others have commented on the noise, not an issue for me. Just a nice meal.

#36 Rebeca was a doll!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LastSecondTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“American and Brazilian Food”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I was surprised to see that they had Brazilian food on the menu, so I absolutely had to order the pao de queijo, which was pretty good. Not the best I ever had, but I made my friends (who never tried it), and they fell in love. A carafe of Sangria here was affordable, about $12 and it has 2 servings. It was yum! Though it didn't taste like t had high alcohol content.

On to the food again. I ordered a steak sandwich or something like that. I enjoyed it, but the best part were the herb fries. I have to say it's one of the better fries I've ever had. In the end I paid about $30 for Sangria, pao de quiejo, steak sandwich, and splitting a ceviche with 2 others.

I would come here again, especially if you're looking for a place with a little bit of everything.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank buffy0182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Coffee Shop also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to The Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing