We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Random place, great for everything”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Coffee Shop

The Coffee Shop
Reserve with OpenTable
The Coffee Shop is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,612 of 13,548 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $25 - $25
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Flatiron District
Cross street: 16th Street
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Random place, great for everything”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

I went here for breakfast, dinner and drinks and everything was great quality and well priced and the cocktails were great (but very potent!). A really good all rounder for any meal you like and there was always something going on. Looks can be deceiving!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Just_NewZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    99
    61
    21
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“tasty food in a cosy and laid back restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

delicious stirk steak and nice pumpkin pie... everything was pretty much great! the atmosphere is relaxed as well as cosy.
nice place for friends or couples next to a popular square (union sq) which always seems to be filled with crowd and energy and from walking distance of many bars

Helpful?
Thank sabouum
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
746 reviews
601 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Large scruffy diner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

This busy diner opposite Union Square is fine for breakfast or lunch. It always looks dirty but I have never been ill from eating there. Nothing special but if you needs eggs and coffee the quality of food is like a country diner that you stop at by chance on a long drive. There is a large bar with stools and booths. I wouldn't go here with a first date.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JNWSuisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicoletravels
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Weekday lunch disaster”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

I've been here many times, and my review is mainly only based on my most recent experience, which happened to be the first weekday lunch I've had at the Coffee Shop.
Our food: portions were tiny and not flavorful
The ambiance: It was a rainy weekday and the restaurant was crowded, so we were seated in the back. Alone. Which was fine for us except the waitress never came around. I've had brunch several times in the front and the "diner" bustle is part of the allure.
The service: "Miranda" is the worst waitress of all time. I seriously think she was high. She dropped our check, took our credit card and came back with... condiments. They were meant for a new table seated next to us, but she didn't even realize the mistake when she made it and minutes later, we had to ask for our check... again. We laughed but it kind of wasn't funny.
From start to finish (she knew nothing about the specials, the wine, etc), she was a hot mess.
The coffee shop has always been a good union square standby but sadly, I will never go back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nicoletravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Maarten-St. Martin
Level Contributor
204 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Nice classical Diner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

We had breakfast here one morning and it was nice basic breakfast. The waitress was very nice and chatty.....surprised of the day another aspiring actress in nyc. This is just a fun typicial place to go if you are in the neighboorhood not to go out of your way.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Coffee Shop also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to The Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing