We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Chinese food!”

The Cottage - Amsterdam Ave & 77th St
Ranked #3,196 of 13,630 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
Smyrna, Tennessee
Level Contributor
164 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Fabulous Chinese food!”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We read about this place on TA and decided to give it a try since it was near our hotel. it was busy and crowded but we only had to wait about 15 mins. The food was fabulous. we got steamed dumplings, sesame chicken, sesame shrimp, general chicken and they were all fresh, hot and delicious. we didn't leave one scrap between the 4 of us.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank terrysavage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    32
    13
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“It's average”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

It's a very small, tight space especially with a group of 9 and we were seated at two separate tables. The lunch special was a good price; the food was average. The wonton soup was tasteless, but the wontons were o.k. The meal was decent overall. Service wasn't the greatest. They definitely cater to families since we had a huge group of 2-3 families sitting next to us with kids. They seemed to do a brisk delivery business during the lunch hours.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank curious_tsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehouse Station
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great food, fast service, though sometimes they skimp on the wine.”
Reviewed January 18, 2012

I have always enjoyed my meals at the cottage. It's a little hole in the wall locals only seem to know about. The only thing holding me back from giving them five stars is that when they first opened they gave a bottomless complimentary carafe of wine for the table. It is just chablis but I found the last few times I've gone I've had to remind them, and even then it was far from bottomless.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South America
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great price average chinese food”
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Small chinese restaurant, fast service, does lots of take-out. Good !!! quick !!! cheap !!!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank GSO421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
177 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Unsanitary - Wouldn't Return.”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We used to enjoy this restaurant, the operative phrase being "used to".Food was tasty,featuring Chinese and Thai dishes,though service had always been awful, but we put up with bad service for the taste of the food.In the last year, despite the" A" rating in the window, all four of us have found something in our food. A few months ago,I found three hairs which clearly were not my own, in my soup.,On our next visit,two of us crunched on something hard and white in color, more like a lobster shell in hardness, than an eggshell.(None of our meals contained either lobster or egg.)
We thought we'd give it another try a week ago.Food was good,and without incident.After the meal,we ordered the House Special Soup , to take home.We always order this soup and are quite familiar with it.Soup was still hot when we got home and I ladled some into a bowl.Very small, slightly transparent,white-ish worm-like bugs were in the soup. I poured the entire container into a bowl, to check it, and there were about a dozen worms in it.
Yesterday, we passed The Cottage and I discreetly told the manager who we know for years,about the soup incident.I told her that we had no idea if the bugs came from the food or from the takeout container the soup was packed in, but thought that they should know about it .She apologized.
The Cottage serves a carafe of wine gratis when you dine in.I am quite certain that this may be a draw for many, but the wine is nothing special,the food in the last year is greasy and the fact that we have found things in our food that ought not be there is enough for us never to return.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank newyorknatives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cottage - Amsterdam Ave & 77th St also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to The Cottage - Amsterdam Ave & 77th St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing