We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Kosher Place!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pastrami Queen

Pastrami Queen
Ranked #774 of 13,479 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Upper East Side
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Kosher Place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

A great place to enjoy a good bite following a visit at the museums near by. A tiny place. We were lucky and got a table fairly quickly. Very good and pleasant service. The order was served in no time. The choice of pastrami is excellent, and the sandwiches are huge! I enjoyed very much the lunch special of soup and half a sandwich for $15.5. The chicken soup was superior, and the corned beef made as a Rubin to my request. All dishes are big and can easily be shared.
Great!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Arielle2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    85
    17
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Kosher heaven”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

Went here on the advice of a New York native. The place is tiny - only about 10 -12 small tables so probably best to steer clear at lunch if you want to sit. We were lucky to score a seat and proceeded to order the Matzoh ball soup and the pastrami sandwich. The food was delivered to the table quickly and tasted great. The warm pastrami was a typical serve - generous - and was very satisfying. Cost for lunch was about $50 for 2 with tip and a couple of drinks.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank harry036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Aaaaaaaamazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

Holy cow! My husband has been on a pastrami hunt ever since we ate here! He's found nothing that remotely lived up to this place! We shared the pastrami sandwich, corned beef knish, and coleslaw! Aaaaamazing!

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KMDimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Over priced and over rated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

We were drawn in by the Zagat's "best pastrami in NYC" sign. The restaurant is small and clean, with some tight seating. The staff was very friendly and helpful. This is a meat only kosher restaurant, so no dairy at all. The sandwiches were typically large but very overpriced. The pastrami was pretty good but not great. The tuna was much better. The knishes were pretty horrible. Next time, we'll head to the lower east side for deli food.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great pastrami, great soups”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

I went there with relatives who live nearby. The pastrami I had was to do for. And they make great soups too. They also have a large selection of Dr. Brown's sodas, but no coffee. They do have hot tea though.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank drslate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pastrami Queen also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Pastrami Queen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing