We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
New York City
Post
Inbox
Search

“Good views and service”
Review of The Water Club

The Water Club
Ranked #1,992 of 16,845 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $60 - $200
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Kips Bay
Cross street: a 23rd Street and FDR Drive, just north of Waterside Plaza and south of 3
Transit: 6 Train to 33rd Street. Walk across 34th Street to the East River (15-20 minutes) Walk South along the river to about 30th St. Pass the heliport and past the parking lot. Or take the M34 crosstown bus to the last stop at the east river. Walk South along the river to the restaurant.
Description: The Water Club offers classic American cuisine of the highest caliber, specializing in seafood, and breathtaking views of Queens, Brooklyn, Manhattan and the Queensboro Bridge. In the summer, join us at our rooftop bar, The Crow's Nest.
Reviewed September 3, 2016

We went here for brunch. It is a nice place with a lovely view but I found it a bit old fashioned for my taste (in decor and food style). Food though was good and service was helpful and friendly. Worth a try if you prefer a more traditional style.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joannie707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 226 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2016

Beautiful place to have drinks and dinner. We started the night at the rooftop bar, The Crows Nest and watched the sunset over margaritas. We went downstairs for dinner. Great views of the East River while dining. The mater d, Dan Sweeney, was very friendly and attentive. The food, however, was disappointing. I guess you don't come here for the food.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2016

my son took me there today for my birthday.......what a truly NY experience....leisurely brunch........the food was good......the bar in the other room next to the dining room was the perfect place to have an after dinner drink. and listen to the wonderful piano player and songs from the Great American Song book.......just lovely and relaxing. afternoon.........in addition if i was looking for a place to stop by for an afternoon drink or take a break from being in the city ...this is where i would go.....did not opt for outdoor deck upstairs but that is an option if you like to be outdoors...........

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank peperina826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2016 via mobile

Normally I don't care for waterfront restaurants as the views are awesome but the offer poor quality food. I was severely mistaken with this choice. The only hiccup was arriving at the venue and that was due to traffic conditions. That being said we were quickly greeted upon by a receptionist whom seated and passed us on to Armando whom took excellent care of us. The seafood tower was spectacular and then lobster Thermidor was flavorful without being too creamy. Wine and dessert all delightful. I can't wait to return.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank bulltrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2016 via mobile

Looking for a place to take that special someone in your life? The Water Club is the place. Located on the Eadt River in NY it has a spectacular view and wonderful atmosphere. A little pricey but you will have a great time. Try the moscato if you like a good drink.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Buddybear444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Water Club also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to The Water Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing