We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably my all time favourite in New York”
Review of The Water Club

The Water Club
Reserve with OpenTable
The Water Club is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,569 of 13,826 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $60 - $200
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: a 23rd Street and FDR Drive, just north of Waterside Plaza and south of 3
Transit: 6 Train to 33rd Street. Walk across 34th Street to the East River (15-20 minutes) Walk South along the river to about 30th St. Pass the heliport and past the parking lot. Or take the M34 crosstown bus to the last stop at the east river. Walk South along the river to the restaurant.
Description: The Water Club offers classic American cuisine of the highest caliber, specializing in seafood, and breathtaking views of Queens, Brooklyn, Manhattan and the Queensboro Bridge. In the summer, join us at our rooftop bar, The Crow's Nest.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Probably my all time favourite in New York”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The views from the Water Club up the East river as the sun goes down are worth a visit by themselves, but it is also a great restaurant and bar. Not always easy to get to Taxi drivers seem to go around several times and a bit uninspiring from the outside, but once inside you step into another world. Excellent piano bar where the barman makes some of the best classic cocktails in New York. Food is very good, the lobster especially so - the emphasis on the quality of the ingredients rather then fanciful sauces or over imaginative presentation. Both the Menu and wine list both sensibly priced. A good French Sancerre at $39 is rare in NY! Great for a romantic evening (make sure you get a table by the windows) or a business meeting.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JSD88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    49
    21
    10
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Kitchen needs an overhaul”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Was there last year and everything was fantastic. This year was a real let-down. Naturally the views remain as staggering as ever - in fact they were even better, because we went up to The Crow's Nest for photo opportunities. The piano bar: great. Really good pianist. The maitre d' couldn't have been more friendly or accomodating - got us a window seat in the elegant dining room. Wait staff a little unsure of themselves, but willing and pleasant. So far, all ok. The food was a severe disappointment. As it was becoming clear that we wouldn't be getting to Boston on this holiday, I opted for a clam chowder. They don't do it like in Boston! Seriously, it was poor: no rich, creamy texture, no fresh sea-taste. My main course (Beef Wellington) was a disaster. the meat was flavourless and whatever was pressed between the meat and pastry was definitely "off" and quite nasty - as if old wine had been allowed to go vinegary and had been used in the cooking. One of the side dishes - french fries - was so clearly over-cooked even to look at that I was amazed that any self-respecting cook would allow it to go out into the dining room.
In addition - and I admit that this is not management's fault - the guests at two tables near us were an example of monied, noisy vulgarity whose behaviour was such that they could not possibly have noted the quality of what they were eating or drinking. Reading a lot of the other critiques of this restaurant, it strikes me that many people come to The Water Club to splash out on a pricey restaurant with legendary views. The food & wine is immaterial. It would be sad to think that this attitude has percolated through to the restaurant owners who realise that they're sitting on a gold mine; that people will come even if you serve them the equivalent of KFC cuisine.
To top it all, as soon as we arrived back to our apartment, I had to make a mad dash for the bathroom with what I can only presume were the effects of food poisoning. Sad.
Our evening for two at The Water Club came to over 300 dollars. This was about what I had expected to pay, but not for such sub-standard fare.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MartinW_Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Love the Crow's Nest”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Never eaten at the restaurant, but the Crow's Nest has a skyline view to die for. Come at night. The drinks are kind of sub par and the service is incompetent, but who cares. In a way it's nice that the waitress never seems to come by because you can stay longer without being hassled.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kapiris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 6 Contributor
542 reviews
375 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“Lovely venue with a view for an elegant dinner or event”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I love restaurants with great food and a great view. In NYC, this is my favorite. I recently attended a family anniversary dinner. The Water Club was perfect. Twelve of us were seated at a round table. Many of us enjoyed the special of the day: a delicious fish dish: a huge scallop wrapped in fluke with wild shrimp cooked in a delicate herb / wine sauce. The appetizers: lobster bisque and salads were fabulous. We ordered an assortment of wines for the group; all were lovely. The restaurant, although busy on a Saturday night, still is calm enough to enjoy conversation. The celebrant is a former Merchant Marine, so the upscale water venue was perfect!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DrKatieRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Go with discount”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Appetizers: goat soufflé – good, very light, very cheesy; duck spring rolls (2) – very good, duck good, nice sesame sauce; entrees – short ribs didn’t seem BBQ’d as listed, more like braised, OK but disappointed, scallops wrapped in fluke very good, large, properly prepared scallops tender, slightly underdone as I like them; desserts: flan was highlight, might be best I’ve ever had, passion fruit sorbet was good pairing—very tart ; parfait was good. Wine $9. Coffee $2.50 ea.Restaurant Week dinner $35. Service overly attentive—right down to 3 staff hailing cabs, setting was marvelous. Only “complaint” was check came very slowly after repeated requests (over ½ hr) so they didn’t rush you out and the place was full?! A bit pricey if not RW and they do suggest jacket but not everyone wore one. Soak in view, chill.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PerryPatetik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Water Club also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to The Water Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing