We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Solita Soho Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Solita Soho Hotel
Ranked #368 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel may 17th to 20th and had a wonderful time! Staff was nice and check-in was quick. The location is perfect!!!!!(stay here it's close to everything) But remember, this is New York, so yes there will be some noise from the street.... The cleaning lady was great, left us lots of towels and coffee ( We left her a small tip most days because she was so good) I would stay at this hotel again for sure!!! Loved getting the free paper in the lobby and drinking my coffee while waiting for my friends!!! Oh ya.... the views are great!!! gorgeous buildings all around

Room Tip: Get a room on higher floor, little less noise from the street. Leave a tip for the cleaning lady she...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, General Manager at Solita Soho Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and share your experience. I have shared your review with the entire staff as a great example of the experience that each of our guests should have. I am delighted you enjoyed the location and the overall atmosphere and service of the hotel. We strive each day to provide the best possible experience for all of our guests. We do hope to see you again on your return visit to NYC and again I sincerely thank you for the kind words and great review!

Kind Regards,

Andrew Brogdon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (479)
There are newer reviews for Solita Soho Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 479 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2013

Nice and clean rooms, friendly staff. Checking in was less than 2 min. View of the Empire State building from our room. Chinatown and Little Italy just around the corner. Perfect teenageshopping on Broadway, 2 blocks down.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Jo Marianne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, General Manager at Solita Soho Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

I sincerely thank you for reviewing our hotel and providing such positive remarks. I am glad that your entire experience with us was a good one and that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you kindly for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to having you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Andrew Brogdon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is NOT a "boutique" hotel. It is just a tiny, dark, noisy hotel. It is the smallest hotel room I've ever seen in the U.S. You can hear EVERYTHING in the hallway, including every single time other guests go in and out of their room and use the elevator. I even could hear the cleaning crew sweeping the carpet in the hallway. Not vacuuming - sweeping. There just is no soundproofing. The plumbing is loud, so you can hear water rushing through the pipes when others flush the toilet or take a shower. That's in addition to all of the outside/street noise that other reviewers mention (I can hear people talking on the street and I'm on the 6th floor). Oh, and the only view is of a roof and another building about 20 ft away.

The bathrooms have been renovated, but are small and very basic. The tv is analog with about 10 stations.

The room was not cleaned very well. I noticed a used Kleenex on the floor next to the bed and it did not appear as if the toilet had been cleaned. Ick ick.

The best part of this hotel is the free Internet and the receptionist was polite. Bed was comfortable-enough, but most hotels have ok beds.

It might be a worthy stay if the price were around $200. But at $400 plus, it just is a horrible choice. I will inform my company to take this hotel off the approved list.

Oh, and notice how the manager only responds to the positive reviews on TripAdvisor. Tells you something about his attitude.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Theresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, General Manager at Solita Soho Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Thank you kindly for taking the time to review our hotel. I sincerely apologize that your stay was not a positive one. We strive each day to provide the best possible service, clean rooms, and a positive experience overall. Obviously we fell short during your stay and again I am very sorry. I try to reach out to each guest that shares their experience with us no matter the outcome. It is absolutely the best tool we have to improve the guest experience and each review is taken very seriously and utilized as a training opportunity for the entire staff. Again I thank you for sharing your experience and I do apologize that we were unable to meet your expectations and for the overall experience in general. Have a nice day and we do hope you consider staying with us again in the future to give another chance. Have a great day!

Kind Regards,
Andrew Brogdon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed at the Solita Hotel last week and it was very comfortable, well priced and very well situated being in Little Italy and one block from Broadway. The staff, meaning the young ladies at the front desk, were very helpful and pleasant. The room was clean, modern and had free wifi. The only downfall was the early morning noise from roadwork in front of the hotel. But that should go away shortly. Across the street is a great little coffee shop for breakfast that was cheap and cheerful. I would stay here again for sure. It is not fancy but quite suitable for anyone who is more interested in the sights and sounds of the NY experience than in amenities, and concierges . PS They even arranged for a car to take us back to Laguardia for $38!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathygreens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, General Manager at Solita Soho Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you for the kind review of our hotel. We are delighted to hear that most every aspect of your stay was positive. I do apologize for the construction noise. If we had any control over the situation what so ever we certainly would definitely take action to prevent any disturbance what so ever. The desk associates mentioned were thrilled to be mentioned and to be part of your experience. The whole staff tries hard each day to ensure each guest has the best experience possible when staying with us. We are glad you had a nice stay and please do come back again in the future. Thanks again for the kind words and we look forward to having you back!

Kind Regards,

Andrew Brogdon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This small boutique hotel is perfect for a quick and easy stay in the city. Rooms are small (more than the city' standards) with no closet but are clean, which is important. No common spaces and noisy. Btw is perfectly located, with many cool spots just 5 mins walking and many train's lines just around the corner. Price is deeply affordable for the service and under the NY's average. If you just need a place where taking a shower and rest for the night this hotel is perfect.

Stayed: April 2013
Thank FrancescoSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, General Manager at Solita Soho Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

I would like to thank you for submitting a review of our hotel. We are very happy that we were able to provide a positive experience throughout your stay. I always like to share reviews with the staff as guest feedback is the best tool we have for measuring overall success in all aspects. Anytime someone shares a positive experience it helps to encourage the whole staff and helps us to better understand the needs of each guest. We do hope upon your return to NYC you come back to stay with us again. Thanks again for being our guest!

Kind Regards,

Andrew Brogdon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This hotel is right in the middle of Soho within walking distance to great restaurants and bars. The rooms are small but the incredibly comfortable beds make up for it. The dual shower head's in the bath are amazing! We had 3 of us in the room and it was a little tight but like I said everything else made up for it. The french bistro right next to the hotel was very good as well as the coffee shop across the street.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adventurerelax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, General Manager at Solita Soho Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

We truly appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted that the location worked out great for you as well as all the other positive aspects of your stay. Guest feedback is always the best tool not only for training but ensuring each guest has the best possible experience when staying with us. We do hope you return again in the future and we look forward to having you back at anytime. Thanks again for the kind review!
Kind Regards,

Andrew Brogdon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I'm a frequent business traveler and work in hospitality. The Solita SoHo is stylish, and comfortable with friendly helpful staff. Shower had great water pressure with large shower head. I got a great rate from Priceline.com too. It is going through some renovatios so I had to enter down a stairs and take a very slow elevator up to the lobby.

Weird factor: Arriving on my floor I see two men in shirts and ties coming out of my assigned room. I asked them if it was their room to which tgey replied ,"no, we were just checking on something." Neither of them identified themselves or said tgey work for the hotel just that construction was happening in room above mine.
View: window is level with lower floor roof which has trash and discarded air filters and a water hose.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fusedmind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, General Manager at Solita Soho Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you kindly for submitting a review of our hotel. Guest feedback is the most valuable tool we have for measuring our success in all aspects of our service. I am happy to hear you received excellent customer service from the staff. I would like to apologize however for the confusion regarding the check in process and having workers in your room. We were in the process of completing the renovation during your stay and the construction crew was going in and out of rooms to ensure all last minute details were completed. I apologize if this made you uncomfortable and am sorry you encountered a crew which did not acknowledge or explain the situation. I am happy to say that our renovation has been fully completed and do hope you return in the future and give us another chance to provide you with a better overall experience. Thanks again for choosing to stay with us!

Kind Regards,

Andrew Brogdon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
NOMO SOHO Hotel
NOMO SOHO Hotel
#243 of 468 in New York City
995 reviews
SoHo
CITY ROOMS NYC SoHo
CITY ROOMS NYC SoHo
#358 of 468 in New York City
115 reviews
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#69 of 468 in New York City
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
Soho Grand Hotel
Soho Grand Hotel
#171 of 468 in New York City
2,993 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#90 of 468 in New York City
949 reviews
Nolita
The Nolitan Hotel
The Nolitan Hotel
#123 of 468 in New York City
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solita Soho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solita Soho Hotel

Address: 159 Grand St, New York City, NY 10013-3119 (Formerly Clarion Collection The Solita Soho Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #368 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $157 - $413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Solita Soho Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Solita SoHo is a boutique hotel located in the heart of downtown New York City. The hotel is just steps away from traditional New York areas such as Little Italy, Chinatown, and the famous SoHo shopping.The Solita puts you right into the heart of SoHo where you get the true New York feel with its eclectic restaurants, nightlife, museums, shopping, and culture.We invite you to try this area of New York City out with us and let us know what true New York feels like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Solita Soho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection New York City
Clarion New York City
New York City Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing