We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon well spent”
Review of The Uncommons

The Uncommons
Ranked #3,743 of 16,723 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Greenwich Village
Description: The Uncommons is Manhattan's first (and only) board game cafe, the best place in town to come to relax for a bit, by yourself or with the family. Combining a traditional coffee shop with a library of games to play in-store, we also feature hundreds of great gifts for sale, from puzzles to Cards Against Humanity. And we have 30+ craft beers available, as well as wine, champagne, and mimosas too! Free wi-fi, plenty of tables, and an events calendar with something fun just about every night, this NYU hotspot brings modern board games to an old space: updating the famous Village Chess Shop which had been in the spot for 40 years.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Three of us spent a fun afternoon playing games that we’ve never seen before ! That’s the great thing about this place thousands of games so worth trying a new game. We booked for 3 hours and enjoyed every minute playing different types of games. Staff were very friendly and helpful, we’ll be back.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Dosaprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (28)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 28 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2019 via mobile

We had been looking forward to visiting this place thinking, after a long walk taking in the sights that we could chill with a good coffee and a sandwich and maybe play a game.
The food menu was very limited although the coffee was excellent. I ended up with an egg bagel which was quite dry to eat.
The atmosphere is interesting and good for people watching however, there is one catch. If you want to use a table, then you are pressured into paying $5 for up to an hour. We said that we wanted to sit at a table to eat our food however, we were told that we could whilst one was available but we would be asked to vacate the table if somebody wanted to play a game. This was despite having purchased food and drink!
I completely understand the logic of renting a table to play games as this prevents people staying all day without purchasing food etc however, come on people. If customers have made a purchase, then surely they should be allowed to remain in the place.
Maybe a separate area for diners should be made available to resolve this issue.
This really put a dampener on the place and we won’t be revisiting. They also need to expand their food menu to more than just pigs in blankets, cream cheese or egg bagels.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank deanmunsey9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2019

Ok so you’ll likely be elbow to elbow with some gamer geeks youve never met, but their game selection is unparalleled and they are actually in pretty good condition with most of the original components intact. You can even purchase copies of games here if you fall in love with a certain title. We didn’t try the food or drinks, but it’s nice they offer them for those interested.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2018

This place is a tiny coffee shop that has lots of tables, and a wall of board games! You order your coffee, pay a small "rental fee" for the table, and pick whatever games you want to play! We had a great hour there, playing some old games and chatting. My favorite part of this place is seeing teenagers actually interacting with each other, instead of their phones!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JennyinFlagler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2018 via mobile

I came here on a Saturday evening and the place is packed! You’ll find people playing all sorts of games from cards against humanity to magic the gathering over drinks and snacks. The vibe is inviting and all the tools are there for a fun board game night with friends.

If you have a large group, you might want to look into making reservations.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank gogodiscover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Uncommons also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to The Uncommons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing