We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet”
Review of The Carnegie Deli - CLOSED

The Carnegie Deli
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Takeout
Neighborhood: Midtown
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
146 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Sweet”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Hands down, best pastrami and the best pickles I've ever had! Took a while to get seated, but well worth the wait.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

4,420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,658
    1,440
    714
    333
    275
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Cheesecake!”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Of course we ate here since every year we order cheesecake from here for the holidays. Everything is tasty and the portions are huge. You have to put this on your list of stops when you visit NYC!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank casavaldez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Your dream of the perfect smoked meat”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

A guide told us "you'll have there the best cheese cake ever". We got there, saw the line of people outside (moving fast), came in and... the smell of smoked meat embraced us. We saw the big sandwich with layers and layers of meat... We ordered one of pastrami to share, I mean, they put 500 grams of meat in it. Not enough for you? they have the 1.5 Kg one... my goodness!!
I wish I can eat that much, the meat is sooooooo good!!
The cheese cake not bad but not really good so, just go for the pastrami sandwich, the best I have eaten.
Is a must in NY, just check the many celebrities' pictures covering all the walls that also love this amazing sandwich. Sorry Montreal (Schwartz) but this one is better.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GABRIELA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Worth the Wait”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

A friend recommended our family give this "world famous" deli a try before leaving New York City. So, on our final day of walking around, we decided to drop by for lunch. When we arrived we noticed a line out the door which had about 25 people waiting in front of us - the hostess said it would be about 15 to 20 minutes so we waited.

Sooooo glad we did! The deli has a lot of tables inside so it is a little cramped - and you may be sitting next to another couple or family in this deli/cafeteria style seating.

The menu is extensive and even the pickiest eater can find something to their liking... including breakfast served all day!

Finally, we had a waitress named Ann. Ann is an older lady, really older and you can tell she's been around a while. Ann won't try to charm you, chit-chat with you, or even smile but we all agreed the experience of Carnegie Deli wouldn't have been the same without having her as our waitress. :-)

All said, it really was worth the wait!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolingbrook
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Eat Here!!”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Great food and service. Loved the pictures on the walls and the closeness of the tables. The atmosphere is just what I expect in New York. The servings are extra large. I had the corned beef and cheesecake. Both were great.

Tip - share a sandwich rather than purchase two. The serving size is too much for one person.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingEyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Carnegie Deli also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing