We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Finally got to go”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Carnegie Deli - CLOSED

The Carnegie Deli
Price range: $11 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Midtown
Plano, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
98 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Finally got to go”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

I will say this place has been on my to do list for many years as a frequent tourist. We just happened to come upon it around 11:30 at night walking around after seeing a show so it was meant to be.

We walked in and were seated right away. It wasn't too crowded so we didn't sit directly next to someone as they have cafeteria style seating.

Now, after reading reviews over the years. I was expecting gruff waitresses and cash only. Neither was the case. Friendly no-nonsense service and they do accept credit cards now.

I did not get the huge sandwich because my friend is vegetarian and I knew she would not help me eat it! I didn't want to waste an animal. So I got the potato pancakes which were the size of my hand and 3 to an order. A bit excessive but it's the experience. We also got the cheesecake because you just have to!

Glad I finally got to go. I may return to get the pastrami sandwich one day!

Helpful?
Thank just2bria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

4,419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,657
    1,440
    714
    333
    275
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
FLORIDA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“BEST REUBEN EVER!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

Large portions, and excellent quality food. The best Reuben I've ever eaten! We also had the Potato Pancakes and the Cheesecake. The Cheesecake was also the best I've ever eaten. Highly recommend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SARRECAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinalhaven, Maine
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A NYC Institution”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

We ate here for lunch as one of us had been here before. We knew going in that it was pricey but we also knew the sandwiches would be exceptional. Our waitress was very friendly and attentive. We had our food in no time. We ordered one Pastrami sandwich, one Corned Beef Sandwich, and a side of Coleslaw. The sandwiches were enormous and wonderful, as was the coleslaw. I would have ordered the delicious looking cheesecake, but I was just too full. I took half my sandwich back to our hotel! To me, if you haven't been there, it is a must; just don't expect it to be cheap, it isn't. It is an institution and a must visit if you have the time and money.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
105 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Why would anyone want all that meat?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

We got the "Woody Allen" which was 1/2 pastrami and 1/2 corned beef. It was quite tasty, but who needs 1lb of meat in one sitting and for $24???We shared ($3 extra charge to share and for extra bread) and still left half of the food on the table. It was fun to say we've been, but probably wouldn't go back.
The service was very good, friendly and efficient.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JenBeaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What service?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

We went to the Carnegie Deli, as the enormous Pastrami sandwich was recommended to my husband.
While I have to agree, it was the biggest sandwich I have ever seen (and to be honest, a pretty disgusting amount of meat) I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone.
The staff were downright rude, to both me and another couple, and if you dare to share your sandwich-made-for-a-family, they charge you an extra $3!!!!!
My advice - find another restaurant, and enjoy your meal!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Keekorok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Carnegie Deli also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing