We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic NYC Diner/Deli”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Carnegie Deli - CLOSED

The Carnegie Deli
Price range: $11 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cowdenbeath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Authentic NYC Diner/Deli”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

I have visited here many times and truly a great NYC eaterie. Portions massive and service by staff that look like worked here or years. Says a lot that there is a queue to get in. Cheesecake to die for, all pictures on walls of the famous people us amazing

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chez6577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

4,419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,657
    1,440
    714
    333
    275
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A must visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is one of those old historic places you must eat at least once. I'm not much of a deli person but I must admit, they have wonderful corn beef sandwiches. Huge portions worth the price.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Unson R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, USA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Actually really good food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Tourist trap, yeah, in one sense! But everybody's meal was very well-prepared and tasty and portions were very generous and service was fast. It is NOT a rip-off: It is worth a visit. Excelletn side dishes : Potato salad, cole slaw all very fresh.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank WJ60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not Worth the Hype”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

When we asked our bellhop for one food recommendation in New York, this is what he told us. We went there and the hostess first had to finish her conversation with another employee before acknowledging we were there to sit us. We split the Reuben, which really was nothing special. Sure it's a huge sandwich, but that was really all that made it different than a Reuben from anywhere else. Prices are insane ($30 for one sandwich and ice water), but I guess they can do that when they're always busy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JenBal3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Pastrami Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

There's a reason there is a line out the door for this deli. The food and service are worth the wait! Their pastrami is literally melt in your mouth tender and the sandwich more than enough to split between two people. Factor in a wait time of less than five minutes from order to eating, and you can't go wrong. This is one classic that should not be missed!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Carnegie Deli also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing