We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing serving sizes!”
Review of The Carnegie Deli - CLOSED

The Carnegie Deli
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Takeout
Neighborhood: Midtown
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing serving sizes!”
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

We went here so my husband could have the famous Ruben sandwich - he said it was excellent. The servings are so big he shared with our teenage son - they were both full. Desserts looked amazing we had eaten too much to try them. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ceiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

4,420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,658
    1,440
    714
    333
    275
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Way Overhyped!!”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Split the Woody Allen....had to... the sandwich is massive....enough to feed a family of 4...really who wants to order something this large and really enjoy it. Then of course they charge $3.00 for sharing. I noticed those that didn't share left most of it behind...what a waste. One order of chicken fingers....boring but also expensive. The place is literally crammed with people...where are the rules for fire safety? The deli meat is very tasty of course...but not worth the price. This was my first meal visiting in New York and my least favourite.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gorjan25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenside, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Huge Portions! Fast Service! Deli Tradition!”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

A Front-Loaded sandwich lovers heaven! Matzo Ball soup that will make you kvell! The line may seem long outside but this place is organized and orders fly out of the kitchen at warp speed as diners are shuffled in and out rapidly!

If I lived near here I'd eat here once a week! Mouth watering!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leon1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
154 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Pricey, but worth a visit”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Ate here on 8 July, around 1 p.m. Full, but still seats available, so no wait. Great ambiance, what with all the photos on the walls. The place reeks of history, in a good way.

My friend had the Woody Allen, a sandwich piled high with about 6" of pastrami on rye bread. She liked it a lot, with the deli mustard on the table.

I had mac & cheese with pastrami bits. Thank goodness I added the pastrami, cuz otherwise it would have been reeeeeally plain. Just a step up from kraft mac & cheese, IMHO. I had hoped for something a bit kickier or innovative, but nope. Oh well.

Shared a large slice of strawberry cheesecake for dessert. Very good!

I had ice tea, free refills. She had water.

Hostess, waitress, all other employees very nice & pleasant, and service on-time. No overly long waits or absences.

The huge sammich is $19.95; I want to say my M&C w/bits was 9.95. Strbry chzck was 9.95, tea....not sure. With tax & tip, came out to exactly...$57.00. So - as other reviewers here state, it's kinda pricey. But then again, NYC isn't really known as "bargain city USA" is it?

Bottom line? I'd go again to try something else.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bigmohank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Are You Hungry?”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Very unique restaurant. Sandwiches are their specialty and they are huge! Two can split a sandwich and still have leftovers! You can return later for dessert. Only closes 2 hours a day. A novelty with good quality meat. Impeccable service. Huge servings.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SETJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Carnegie Deli also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing