We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central, quality Chinese food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ruby Foo's - CLOSED

Ruby Foo's
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Home Style
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 49th Street
Transit: N, R & W trains to 49th Street, 1 train to 50th Street, and A, C & E trains to 50th Street. Bus: M104
Description: Ruby Foo’s brings the bold flavors of Beijing, Bangkok and Tokyo to Times Square in a big-box setting that is as boisterous as it Broadway neighborhood. Described as “imaginative” by New York Magazine, the 300 seat space and approachable Pan-Asian cuisine is perfect for dinner pre or post show, lunch with clients, brunch with kids, private parties, and any other occasion imaginable. People watch at a Broadway-facing table over pad thai, sample some of the best rolls in the neighborhood at the 20-seat sushi bar, share assorted dim sum at a banquet and finish with a Dessert Bento Box. Tight on time? Take freshly-baked theater treats like Chocolate Chip Cookies and Caramel Popcorn to go. Or, get sushi and dim sum delivered to your door!
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Central, quality Chinese food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

Good atmosphere, clean, plenty of options on the menu and good tasty food. Professional and attentive waiting staff.
Recommended.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank B J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRGuestHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Ruby Foo's, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time on Trip Advisor to let us know about your visit to Ruby Foo's!

It truly means a lot to us to hear from you and we appreciate your feedback.

We hope to have you join us again and wish you all the best!

Gabby Barikian
Community Relations Specialist
BR Guest Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

854 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    341
    164
    54
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
minnesota
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Location-Service-Food ...All Outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

Modern Asian food in NYC...
I sat at the bar and had great service and food recommendations from bartender.
Vegetable dumplings and a tuna roll--would do a repeat of these two items if I get back.

Very close to Times Square on 49th and Broadway
Great for couples and families.

Lots of families dining. Noise level was good. Price was reasonable

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank colderthanyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRGuestHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Ruby Foo's, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time on Trip Advisor to let us know about your visit to Ruby Foo's!

It truly means a lot to us to hear from you and we appreciate your feedback.

We hope to have you join us again and wish you all the best!

Gabby Barikian
Community Relations Specialist
BR Guest Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The name should be FO!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

Sushi to forget! The only thing I wouldnorder here are the chicken fingers and saporro beer. The rest was forgettable. We order 4 sushi rolls and all were BAD!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pinaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“bad service, great food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

Unfortunately we had waiter confusion and nobody waited on us for 10+ minutes. Even when they did finally after I asked management it was still really slow, hardly any drink refills, some of our food came out and some did not. We finished what we did get sharing it all before the other dishes came out. They did comp our appetizers and drinks and the items we never received. But it should have been better. that said, the food we did get was great.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank airmark2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot in Times Square”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

No shortage of places to eat in Times Square, but if you like dim sum or sushi, check out Ruby's. My wife wanted dim sum so we decided to give it a try for lunch. The service was excellent. Although the selection of dim sum was limited, each dish was quite good, and there were other options available. I mentioned that it was my wife's birthday, and they presented here with an excellent dessert platter at the conclusion of the meal, totally unexpected and so appreciated!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul R G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRGuestHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Ruby Foo's, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time on Trip Advisor to let us know about your visit to Ruby Foo's!

We appreciate your feedback and hope to have you dine with us again soon.

We wish you all the best!

Gabby Barikian
Community Relations Specialist
BR Guest Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruby Foo's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing