We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Place - overcharge”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Park

The Park
Reserve with OpenTable
The Park is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,625 of 13,554 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $31 - $80
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Chelsea
Cross street: between 17th and 18th street
Transit: A,C,E,L to 14th St
Hamilton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice Place - overcharge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Went here to celebrate a friends birthday! The place is nice inside, kinda dark! The service was ok, the food is expensive and they only give you a little bit :( ! I got the pork chop it was thick and tasty BUT the STEAK was amazing! it was tender and juicy! i would go back and get the steak it was worth it! for a pork chop and one drink my bill was about $60 - way too much!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MsShan89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    178
    95
    43
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
187 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Brings the outside in”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

I met a friend in the City so we could have a girls’ day of shopping & catching up. After exiting the too crowded Chelsea Market we headed North in search of a place to eat that could accommodate a vegetarian and a carnivore both of whom like wine. Initially we had wanted to sit outside but it was just too hot & sticky. Park was the perfect compromise – they bring the outside in so we had the whole outdoor ambiance without the road noise or car exhaust and with air conditioning.

It’s a relatively big space for NYC & the tables are spaced far apart – one of my favorite little luxuries when eating in the City.

My vegetarian friend prefers to eat on the lighter side. There wasn’t much on the menu to meet both of her dietary preferences. She ended up with a chicken Caesar salad. Although she didn’t say a word, even from the other side of the table I could tell it was swimming in dressing. I had the house special ShortRib burger (without all of the condiments). It was shredded short-rib meat (kind of like pulled pork in texture) formed into a patty of sorts to fit on a hamburger bun. I was a disappointed that the meat wasn’t juicier but it had good flavor; my toasted bun was tad charred but not burnt enough to send back.

It wasn’t the best meal I ever ate, but for NYC it was reasonably priced & the setting was truly lovely. We’d go back.

For what its worth, the bathrooms are really nice but they could use another hand dryer & it should be on a different wall. You run the risk of getting hit with the door by people entering the bathroom as you are trying to dry your hands.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dalm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level Contributor
567 reviews
318 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Beautiful inside, fun brunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Luckily we had lots of time and great company so we didn't mind the waitress stopping by every 20 min or so. The interior was beautiful like an indoor garden with vines growing up the walls and trees, flowers and even birds inside. It had tons of seating, but not many servers. We took our time and met friends so we didn't mind more talking but noticed she was slow making her rounds. It was a bit fancier than we typically prefer but the food was different but delicious. A few things on their menu included ricotta pancakes or lamb meatballs with eggplant and spiced yogurt.
We got the pesto and ricotta pizza and it was very flavorful. They seemed like unique combinations that didn't sound like they'd be good but tasted like they complimented each other well. One of the others in our group got spinach and eggs Benedict, and another got some sort of BBQ pork dish. One in our group was vegan so the menu was friendly to both types of eaters. There were lights all around the place for night time when it becomes a club. It would be cool to go back and see the transformation. The bathrooms were downstairs and had an old school fancy vibe to them. But they also had a club "smell". The inside of the restaurant had a very nice fireplace surrounded by what had to be every issue ever of national geographic magazine. Also, there were some interesting benches and art.

The place was a bit pricey for our liking. $10 cocktails and menu items around the $20 mark. We had a lemonade that was iffy at best and pretty small (think breakfast OJ glass) and it was $4. The food was good, but you pay for the way the title of it sounds. 3meals, a couple cocktails and coffee ran about $100.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HanKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Possibly the worst lunch I have ever had”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Truly, utterly disgusting. Had lunch with my parents and son - the place was very pretty with a good menu so thought why not for lunch...We waited for ages upon ages for what might be the worst food ever. I was starving and had to send my croque monsieur back - soggy bread, cold and repulsive - my parents could hardly eat their food either. Even my 2 year old wasn't not terribly enthusiastic about his fries...hard to make a worse meal. Only saving grace is they only charged us for the drinks, but 40 dollars was still a lot to pay for such a waste of time and so disappointing. There are so many good restaurants in NYC - don't waste time here!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StinoParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
96 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“surprise find off the Highline”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We walked onto the Highline at 30th St. between 10th & 11th Avenues, descended to street level around 18th St. & randomly chose a place to have lunch. One would never guess from the unassuming exterior of this restaurant how lovely it is inside...very high ceilings & a beautifully natural park-like decor with bistro tables & chairs on a brick 'patio' floor. The brunch/lunch menu is diverse & interesting without being 'precious'. The food was very good & reasonably priced, the service was attentive & friendly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thedime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Park also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to The Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing