We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing and not very Chinese”
Review of Shun Lee Palace

Shun Lee Palace
Reserve with OpenTable
Shun Lee Palace is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,419 of 13,630 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between 3rd and Lexington Avenues
Transit: E, V & 6 trains to 53rd Street/Lexington Ave
Description: Michael Tong's Midtown "institution" combines "striking" surroundings, "silky service" and "absolutely the best above Canal Street" decorated by Adam Tihany.
frankfort,ky
Level Contributor
131 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Very disappointing and not very Chinese”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

This restaurant is on West 65 Street in NYC.
The menu is for people who "think" they are in a Chinese restaurant, but the food is very bland and very American.
This used to be a good choice, but success has spoiled Shun Lee and atmosphere was almost non-existent.
A very disappointing evening!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank miamisaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    98
    54
    34
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Average quality food and dining experience”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I stayed across the street in the Carvi Hotel. So, I picked Shun Lee Palace mostly out of convenience. The staff were friendly and attentive. The food was ok. I ordered one of their more expensive dishes: Hunan Filet Mignon. The size of the meal was fine. But the quality of the meat was not very good. The pieces were kind of fatty--which is surprising for a filet. The small side order of brown rice was dried out. I did not order anything else. Again, the service was fine. But I would not put this on my list of favorite places to eat in the city.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lfc8568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
537 reviews
404 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Traditional Chinese Restaurant”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

The atmosphere is fine, and the menu is varied. The service was attentive, but the food is average - acceptable but not memorable. Pricing is very high.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank larryderm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millville, DE
Level Contributor
216 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“An Old Stanby”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I have been going to the Palace for over 20 years and it continues to provide excellent Chinese food with expert servce at very high prices. A lunch with my best friend started with their special wonton soup, which is a meal unto itself, and two Cantonese chicken dishes that were expertly prepared although the volume of food was moderate to small. Many neighborhood Chinese restuarants have disappeared in NYC but the Palace holds on and maintains an excellent standard of quality and service. One note, it is getting a bit worn and needs a face lift but it is still a treasure

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bankruptcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
204 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great food, good value, old-fashioned atmosphere”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I have eaten several times at Shun Lee in the past years. It serves a very constant good tasty food. Staff is old-fashioned but give us a sense of reliability.
Value, I must say, is not high due to high price. In any case highly recommendable.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Istanbulapt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shun Lee Palace also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Shun Lee Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing