We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best milkshakes in New York” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of EJ's Luncheonette

EJ's Luncheonette
Ranked #1,900 of 13,479 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Upper East Side
Newcastle
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best milkshakes in New York”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

Came here for breakfast - ordered the Red velvet pancakes which tasted fab but were huge! Husband ordered the breakfast tostada which was delicious. However, both meals were outweighed by the amazing milkshakes - it's definately worth going here just for them!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    77
    23
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
121 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great 'old school' luncheonette for any casual meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

They have counter seating, inside seating and enclosed porch seating. Wide variety on the menu and everything that passed our table looked good. We just had breakfast there.......our coffee was fresh, our breakfast omelette's (Western) were light, fluffy and filled nicely....our hash browns were cooked just right. (We paid $1 extra for the 7-grain bread and it was worth it!) Service was prompt and friendly (always a plus!)

It's in the neighborhood where we're visiting (73rd & 3rd Ave) and we'll be going back for lunch a few days from now.

It's crowded weekdays for lunch with locals and parents with their children from the neighborhood schools. (We left around 12:10 and there were about 10 people waiting to be seated). If possible, I'd suggest going before 11:00 am or after 2:00 pm to avoid the lunch lines.

Note: They're cash only.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pachachuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great milkshakes, great fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

Terrific place for casual, tasty food and friendly atmosphere. Good salad and soup choices -- not to mention the milkshakes Great neighborhood for walking, shopping Will go back for brunch

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KWVI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
115 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A routine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

My husband and I have breakfast every Sunday morning at EJ's as part of our weekly routine. We also frequently go for lunch and an occasional dinner. It is convenient to our apartment. The food is always delicious and the service is never lacking. We particularly like to be at either Bamal's or Shaheen's stations, although the entire staff is very attentive. We consider this restaurant a neighborhood gem. You can always count on the food and service. It takes us back to the 50s and 60s when we were growing up.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
“Worst service ever!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

We went to EJ's Luncheonette to have breakfast. First when we were seated we had to wait very long for the waitor to come and ask for our order. This was not because the place was full as it was half empty. After that we had to wait very long to get our food and many local people who arrived after us got their food earlier. When we finally got our food they had forgeotten part of what we ordered. All the time the waitors acted like they hated tourists. It seemed that they treated local people well but we got dirty coffee mugs and when we tried to call for the waitor who clearly saw us he just kept on talking with his colleague completely ignoring us. I am normally very tolerant for little flaws in service but this seemed to be totally deliberate. I reccomend to avoid this place.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Juderatzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed EJ's Luncheonette also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to EJ's Luncheonette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing