We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Late Night” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of P.J. Clarke's

P.J. Clarke's
Ranked #250 of 13,476 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Midtown
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Late Night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We ate here following the opera. Service was excellent and very fast. We ordered drinks and soups. The tomato soup was good, the French Onion soup was okay, seemed microwaved. The drinks were good. Loud atmosphere, people were enjoying themselves.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    522
    501
    136
    37
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
215 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great classic New York Pub - Great for Office Parties!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We visited P.J. Clarke's for an office party/event. The staff was overwhelmingly polite, amazingly attentive and the management was on hand at all times to see that we were getting well taken care of.

I really enjoyed myself and the atmosphere was very friendly. We had an assortment of appetizers to snack on, the sliders were a favorite of our group. This was a great place for our office party, and since this is close to home, I will most certainly be back to have dinner with my family.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WineMeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
182 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Old fashioned NYC pub”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Nothing special here, but if you're curious to see the way business people used to lunch, this is a good spot to do it. Burgers, specials, and drinks.

Helpful?
Thank OutdoorsAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Decent enough”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

I knew the hype about the burgers here, so I convinced the family to try it. Right on the corner of 55th and 3rd, it's easy to find.

Skooch through the bar to get to the restaurant. The hostess will find a table for you. The service was friendly and knowledgeable. Water glasses were refilled regularly, which is more than I can say at some other places. The atmosphere is bar-ish, informal, busy.

I'm not a big burger person, but the kids both had burgers. I got an order of the onion strings for the table, and they were really good. Later, the, unfortunately smaller, order of French fries was even better. I started with a generous bowl of the French onion soup. It was good, but I'd prefer fresh cheese grated on the top, letting the warmth of the soup melt the cheese. For this bowl, the cheese was rather baked on top of the soup. Though still good! I also had the Ceasar salad which was nothing special, small, uninteresting. The kids liked their Simply Burgers. It comes plain, so just ask for whatever else you might like on your burger: lettuce, tomato, mayo, mustard. The kids reported the mustard is a spicy mustard, which of course they didn't like, but overall they liked the burgers.

The basic burger is about $10, and the fancier burgers in the $15-20 range. Order fries separately for about $6 for a smallish cup of fries.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamie-SoloTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whidbey Island, Washington
Level Contributor
112 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“A Very Good Find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We were heading back to our hotel after a long day of sightseeing when we happened across PJ Clarke's. We had a hard time walking through the bar to the dining room, it was so crowded, & I dreaded what the wait would be. We were seated immediately, to my amazement. The dining area was also packed, & our table was very small, right next to the restroom ... I wasn't sure it was such a good idea to stay. But I'm so glad we did. Our waitress was fast, friendly & terrific. Our beers were cold & also quite speedy (thank goodness!). Our food was hot, prompt & delicious. We didn't mind being elbow to elbow with neighboring tables, & the noise level was loud but not bothersome at all. This was a great choice with very reasonable prices for Manhattan. Best of all, it was a balm for our empty stomachs & weary feet.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Denise70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed P.J. Clarke's also viewed

 

Been to P.J. Clarke's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing