We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully casual NYC history and a very good steak”
Review of P.J. Clarke's

P.J. Clarke's
Ranked #244 of 13,823 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Midtown
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderfully casual NYC history and a very good steak”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I recently visited the upstairs of PJ Clarkes on the East side, the Sidecar, and really loved the overall experience. We were 3 couples celebrating a new engagement, so we wanted something a bit special, but nothing too fancy. Thats just what we got. Our waiter told us we were sitting within the original stone walls & wooden ceiling of the original PJ Clarkes in NYC (there are now 4 Manhattan locations) and it felt very much like old school New York. Four out of six of us got the Dry-Aged NY Strip and could not have been happier with our choice. The service lacked a bit at the end, but we enjoyed the company of friends in the downtime of waiting for drinks.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gamgirl45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    551
    526
    145
    38
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northants
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Typical New York pub”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Such a great New Yorker's pub for cocktails and food. The burgers are the best i gave ever tasted. Delicious

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank hmiller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A gem on the corner”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We tried both for Lunch and for Brunch and enjoyed both visits. Very attentive staff and a very nice atmosphere, and the food was delightful. Whether meat or fish selected the presentation was excellent and the taste fantastic. Very busy at peak times so book if you do not wish to be disappointed.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank RY55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Sanctuary”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I love New York and it seems to me the number of great bars has reduced dramatically ... Anyway we found PJ Clark's and never left!....great atmosphere,great staff,great drinks and really great food!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mike c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Consistently Good”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I have been to three PJ Clarkes in the city- the one at Lincoln Center, the one in Midtown East and the one in Battery Park. The original in Midtown East is the best, although sitting outside by the water in Battery Park was great as well. However, the service at the Midtown East establishment was great. The waiter, hostess, and even the bus boys were very attentive and so much fun! We had a large group, including my two yr old nephew, and the whole restaurant was very accommodating.

Burgers are obviously a must.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank MissKris626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed P.J. Clarke's also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to P.J. Clarke's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing