We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A buzzing bar and restaurant for a great night out”
Review of Banc Cafe

Banc Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Banc Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,009 of 13,743 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 30th Street
Transit: No. 6 Train at Park Ave and 28th Street or 33rd Street.
Description: A neighborhood bar restaurant occupying the space of a 1920’s bank. The décor is inspired by nineteenth century Parisian establishments. Terra Cotta textured walls, dimly lit chandelier’s, copper table tops & curved banquette seating create a very unique and intimate setting. Executive Chef, John J. Loughran formerly of River Café in Brooklyn has created a menu that changes seasonally; using the best of locally sourced ingredients. Chef John’s philosophy, buy local and be creative. This is evident in every dish you taste at Banc Café. Our cocktails are created using fresh fruit & natural ingredients. We feel that tasty food & flavorful drinks provided with honest friendly service is a great way to win someone over. We hope that someone is you. Enjoy!
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A buzzing bar and restaurant for a great night out”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Banc Cafe is a neighborhood bar restaurant located in a former 1920’s bank building. The décor has a 19th century Parisian aesthetic - dimly lit with chandeliers, copper table tops, textured, terracotta coloured walls and curved banquette seating. It created a great atmosphere for a buzzing Friday night.

The menu includes a selection of 'small plates' and 'big plates'. We ordered a range of small plates to share between our table of eight: a couple each of the tartare of tuna and avocado ($14), coconut shrimp ($14), goat cheese croquettes ($9) and homemade chicken dumplings ($12); and then we each ordered a plate individually as a main course. Popular choices were: shepherd's pie ($16), saute day-boat scallions and shrimp with smoked bacon and butternut risotto ($23), and warm goat's cheese and proscuitto de parma salad ($10).

With it being a Friday night, the bar section of the premises was very lively and we felt like we'd stumbled onto a bit of a happening place. The dining area is, however, sufficiently separated from the bar noise, so that it was easy enough to chat at the table.

Great food, great service. Big thumbs up!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Feetonforeignlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    46
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous service, pleasing atmosphere, above average food”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

The host and server were charming and knowledgable, friendly without being intrusive. We had requested a good table for a a reunion of old friends and we were seated in a perfect booth. The appetizers were excellent and the main courses satisfying. Cocktails delicious.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Food and reasonable”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

My wife and I spent 3 days in NYC and sampled different areas of the city and their restaurants. We were looking for a neighborhood type setting and found Banc Café on Trip Advisor. The menu had a nice variety as well as a decent wine list. We both had the Scallops and Shrimp with risotto that was outstanding! Prices were reasonable for NYC. Service was very good and our meals arrived in reasonable time. I read that they offer acoustic artists on Sundays with 1/2 price wine as well, but we were leaving that day. Location is midtown on the east side, which is nice to get away from the crowded areas and enjoy a nice evening.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TXJayhawk3501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florham Park, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
318 reviews
245 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“What a great place!”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

From the moment we walked in to the moment we left, we had a perfectly wonderful experience. We were early for our group of 6 and one of the hosts (all of them very friendly) brought us to some seats at the end of the bar (the point is we didn't have to find them or fight for them ourselves). The bartender was extremely friendly and helpful. We enjoyed her recommendations. When the rest of our group arrived we stayed at the bar for a while, and the service continued to be friendly and attentive. We sat at a lovely round booth at one end of the dining area. Our waitress was equally friendly and helpful. We shared 4 appetizers, and all were excellent. Everyone also loved their entrees. I had one of the specials of the day: seafood fra diavolo. It was perfect, just the right amount of spice. There was shellfish in 3 of our entrees, and all commented about how well-cleaned they were (no grit at all). We had an enjoyable well-paced dinner, and just when we thought it couldn't get any better, the waitress told us that on Mondays a dessert is included free for every 2 people spending $30. We were brought 3 dessert sampler plates that were totally delicious -- and totally devoured. For the finale, I'd have to say that even the bill wasn't too bad. We expected to pay more, so the value was even better than originally thought. When I got up to use the restroom, I basically had to walk through the entire restaurant, so I got to see everything. There was such a good feel and ambience about this place. The noise level and distance between tables, etc. were very comfortable. So whether you're going for dinner or just drinks, Banc Café is a definite fave!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GPBucket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience overall.”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Very friendly staff, even the douchey looking guys are nice. Ok drinks and beer but great wine. food is fresh and zesty. The clincher is the atmosphere, not too loud and a very comfy vibe. 4 hours will disappear without you even realizing. I like that in a bar:)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank felicity m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banc Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Banc Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing