We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“As usual, outstanding Hyatt quality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Times Square New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Times Square New York
Ranked #53 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“As usual, outstanding Hyatt quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Great location (close to Times Square, Bryant Park, and Rock Center) and very clean, stylish rooms. The staff was incredibly helpful and kind; rooms were very clean and kid friendly.

Few tips: about two doors down there is a great, small store- buy your beer and wine there as the food/beverages at the Hyatt are overpriced (but comparable to NYC hotel prices); the store also has an ATM (which the hotel does not have). Also, there are a few parking garages that are very close to the hotel---I would opt for self parking as the valet prices are absurd (but again on comparable to other NYC hotels) especially when I'm fairly sure the valet parks the cars in the same garage for like 40 bucks/night.


No criticisms of the hotel or services and I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: It's a great place, but if you want to spend tons of time in or around Central Park you should b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lin755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,661
    746
    151
    37
    30
See reviews for
900
840
105
338
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Hyatt Times Square is a great hotel. It has a prime location right in the midst of the action yet the rooms offered a peaceful respite from the city. My room was a standard double but I felt it was spacious for NY standards. The decor and fixtures felt fresh, clean and new.

The room service from the T45 restaurant was of an exceptional standard. I ordered the portobello mushroom sandwich and it was easily the best room service meal I've had in years.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Han230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan F, Manager at Hyatt Times Square New York, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Han230,

Thank you very much for staying with us and I hope your trip home was uneventful! Really pleased to hear you liked the room, I to love the fact that on average our rooms are just a little larger than the competition.

I am also really pleased to hear that the kitchen out did themselves on the sandwich! I will be sure to try it,
all the best,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Hi everyone, I stayed at the Hyatt Time Square in June and the location was perfect, steps away from Time Square, the rooms were awesome ( a bit small but that is normal for hotels in that location) and the staff was very friendly especially Karen at the front desk who checked us in. I mentioned to her that we were expecting our 1st and by the time we got to our room there was a beautiful card and a gift from the staff congratulating us. It was such a thoughtful gesture. I would recommend this hotel to all!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor if available for a awesome view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle-Brooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I really enjoyed my quick stay at this hotel. My wife and I were in town for two days/one night for our 14th anniversary and the hotel was really one of the highlights of our trip. Our room had a modern look and feel but was very comfortable. The space and design were well thought out and the floor to ceiling windows really enhance the great view of the NYC skyline. We didn't come to New York City (particularly Times Square) looking for peace an quiet but the noise was not a concern (we were on the 47th floor). We didn't interact with the hotel staff much just because we didn't need to but they seemed very accommodating and I got the sense they were a fun group who enjoyed working together.

If you're looking for a great place to stay in the general area of Times Square, you can't go wrong with the Hyatt. If you want to spend another $50 to $100 a night you might get fancier drapes but I don't think you'll get a better hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan F, Manager at Hyatt Times Square New York, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Brent,

Congratulations on your wedding anniversary and I am thrilled you chose to spend it with us. We are humbled by the high praise you have shared and I am glad you felt the "fun" vibe, it’s nice when our culture and ethos shows through.

Hopefully we will get a chance to welcome you back for your 15th anniversary!

All the very best to you both,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My husband and 7yr old daughter recently stayed at the Hyatt in a Times Square. It was just perfect. Very sleek and clean. A contemporary vibe. The check in process was quick and efficient. We used the valet service to park our car for the weekend. It was smooth and efficient. Karen checked us in. She was very friendly and polite. My daughter told her it was her first visit to NYC. Karen then upgraded our room without us asking to a one bedroom suite and moved us to a higher floor. How nice was that, huh?

The check in process was a bit funky in that the person who checks you in, also takes your bags to your room. I guess it's a single point of service. It worked for us, but I can see where bottlenecks could occur at busier times.

The lobby is small, but we didn't need to or want to hang there, so it didn't matter.

The room was very clean. Beds were large, fluffy, and extremely comfortable. Noise level was low. Nice TVs. Great showers. Well run and evenly controlled AC. No complaints at all.

The location was amazing. Steps from Time Square. We could walk everywhere....Toys R Us for the Ferris wheel, M&MS store, Hershey Store. Broadway theaters, fine resteraunts, etc. We also walked only a few blocks to St. Patricks Cathedral, Rockafeller Center, and the American Girl Store. We took a longer, but very doable walk, to Central Park.


I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkypopo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan F, Manager at Hyatt Times Square New York, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Pinkypopo (best screen name of the day)

We are really pleased you chose us and thrilled that you had such a great time! I will give Karen a high five for a job well done; fingers crossed we have made a life longer Hyatt fan out of your daughter.

All the best and we hope to see you again soon,

Best regards,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The hotel is in a good location; the rooms are decent sized. However; this hotel's major issue is incompetent staff. It is highly disorganized right from check-in. There is no properly formed line at the reception and it is a total chaos and waste of time waiting for check-in.
The worst part of my experience was when I was trying to locate an item that I left in the room after check-out. I called the hotel 2 hours after check-out and let them know that I left a pair of jeans in the closet. Again, the way they dealt with it was a total chaos; they didn't know who to call; didn't return my calls. I decided to go to the hotel to talk to the housekeeping manager and at that point I understood that this hotel has no way of dealing with something as basic as lost & found. Either their housekeepers don't return found items in the room; or the management has no way of tracking them. Either way it is a shame for a Hyatt. Had gone through similar incidents in the past with other major chains and never had an issue finding the item (and most of the time it was shipped to me in no time!)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nirajdBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan F, Manager at Hyatt Times Square New York, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear NirajdBoston,

Greetings and thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback. I am sincerely sorry for the troubles you experienced; entirely our fault and again I apologize. As you saw our lobby is small and there really is no room for a queue to form but we do try hard to help people as quickly as possible but clearly we failed in this instance.

More importantly I am sorry about the pair of jeans! We have dozens of items turned in daily and a manager diligently logs them so I was very concerned to hear that we didn’t even seem to be able to give you a good answer about your missing item. If you would like to discuss further please don’t hesitate to call the hotel and ask for me in person; there are two Ryan's on our team and my title is Director of Rooms; just to avoid confusion.

I apologize again and am hopeful we might be able to speak in person and investigate the lost and found further.

Best regards,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc Rodman
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Now, I live in CT but work in NYC every week. I usually stay at Marriott as a platinum member but decided to switch things up a bit and stay here. Like all my reviews, I'm very picky.

Here is what I need:
Great AC-check
Great bed-check
Large room-check
Friendly staff-check check check

From Chester and Luis upfront managing your first expectations upon arrival to the front desk.

But the best and one that got me hooked is Karen the Sales Manager. Man, what a special person and like no one in the hotel business that I ever encountered. She helped me with getting a preferred price for my weekly visit, left a beautiful card and brownies in my room and upgraded me on my consecutive visits. What a women. Great person and true professional.

This terrace room with balcony is awesome. The suites are huge and new and the restaurant is awesome.

So, make the switch here and enjoy the comforts of home with an amazingly caring and talented staff who all love their jobs.

Hope Hyatt is reading this and passes this around the team. Love them.

Marc Rodman

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mlrproductions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Kimpton Muse Hotel
The Kimpton Muse Hotel
#47 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,915 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#45 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,689 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#102 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 5,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#161 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 7,062 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#28 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,058 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#17 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Times Square New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Times Square New York

Property: Hyatt Times Square New York
Address: 135 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Times Square New York 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live the ultimate New York lifestyle at the sophisticated Hyatt Times Square New York. You’ll feel like a privileged Manhattanite from the moment you walk into your city pied-a-terre, just steps from the business district and famous attractions such as Broadway theaters, Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center and the New York Public Library. Rest assured that yours will be no typical Manhattan hotel room either. Your chic apartment-style retreat, relaxing while reflecting the thrill of city life, will greet you with magnificent floor-to-ceiling windows and eye-catching original, city-themed art, including a colorful and comfy custom-designed pop-art lounge chair. You won’t be walking down any endless hallways in this 54-story New York Hotel. With only 11 spacious rooms per floor, the hotel feels intimate and residential. For those times when you’re hungry but prefer to dine at home, you can “eat in” at the hotel’s stylish George Wong-designed restaurant, or order take-out food in person, by phone or by a special app for pick up or room delivery. And when you’re ready to socialize, impress business associates or simply relax with friends, the hotel’s inviting NYC roof-top restaurant and lounge is sure to delight you with its river-to-river views, relaxed buzz and cozy indoor and outdoor spaces. You’ll also enjoy the hotel’s full floor state-of-the-art fitness center. And whether you’re de-stressing from a business meeting or prepping for a night on the town, the indulgent 4,200 square foot Timeless - Marilyn Monroe™ Spa - the only hotel spa in the area - will make you look and feel fabulous. Best of all, our in-the-know hosts will make you an instant insider to all that the Big Apple has to offer, from directions to your next meeting to the best shows, both on and off Broadway. Want to impress your client or experience the hottest new club or restaurant? It’s as easy as asking your concierge. You’ll also want to view our Hyatt Destinations New York City guide for insider information on local culture, restaurants, shopping, events and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Times Square New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing