We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Centric Times Square New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Ranked #56 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

I am very impressed with this hotel for the way it delivers and makes up for any missteps.
The hotel is conveniently located to Times Square but surprisingly has excellent windows that keep out the noise of the city.

The room is well appointed and although it is typical New York city size, the use of space an design were top notch and made the room much larger feeling.

On my first stay, there was an alarm during the night time, but the next day, they staff were all very apologetic about the event and I had suggested to the Dir of Rooms that they consider the way it was handled. His speedy email response was very reassuring.

My next stay a week later was great. The suite I got was big and the furnishings were what a modern apt would have! The bathroom was stunning. Unlike older hotels, the new Hyatts and Andaz hotels really go all out to make the bathroom a feature, not just a second thought. I was impressed with the staff and the Dir's response.

The Cinco de Mayo part upstairs at the bar was great. It can be pricy, but like the rest of the hotel, they are top notch! Service pace is casual, but that gives you a great time to enjoy the view from the inside or on the outside patio.

The restaurant serves some really nice food in a diner style atmosphere. They also are great for takeout and serve really nice lattes!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a chance to visit the bar - views are amazing and one of the highest outdoor patio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yucanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa O, Manager at Hyatt Centric Times Square New York, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Yucanuck,

It was truly a pleasure reading your blog! Glad to hear that you had a great time and enjoyed the amenities that we offer at the Hyatt Times Square. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back! If we can personally assist with your travels, please feel free to let us know.

All the best,
Melissa & HTS Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,042
    910
    188
    51
    38
See reviews for
1,136
1,028
128
425
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (620)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

I decided to try out this hotel whilst I was in NYC, so shuffled over from the Bryant Park Hotel for two days here. The web checkin was great. I got an email early in the morning saying I could check in, once done, I then received another email about 10:30am to say my room was ready, so I could check in early. Nice touch.

The express lifts are quite slow, and lots of waiting around for them, especially at busy times. Up on the 42nd floor, it was fairly quiet, with just the usual buzz of NYC that you can't avoid. It's a new hotel and everything still looks in good condition. Rooms are an average size, but missing a luggage rack (maybe it was just my room?) so nowhere convenient to store my bag.

Comfy beds, nice bathroom with wet room area with a bath and shower. No free internet though, except if you loiter in the lobby, which a lot of people did, and there's minimal seating. Most of the time people are there surrounded by cables and devices. One woman was trying to use her iPad, Mac, iPhone and Blackberry all at the same time it seemed. Internet access should be free nowadays considering the room rates. Yes I know it's so they can rip off the business travellers on expenses, but it's still something that should be provided for free nowadays.

Great location for the theatre. Short walk to most Broadway shows.

Check out was quick and easy. The staff I met were all cheerful and pleasant.

Would I stay again? Well if I get a decent room rate and free internet, I'd consider it, but with so much competition around it would need to be a great rate!

Room Tip: As always in NYC, the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chistery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

I visited New York with my brother over the Memorial Day long weekend. This is a brand new hotel centrally located in Times Square. I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. The property is very clean and environmentally friendly. The rooms have some great features. For example, the bathroom has heated tiles. The beds are very comfortable as well. The rooftop bar is a must visit. The cocktails are well made, the food is good, and the views of the city are incredible. The real selling point of this hotel and why I will be sure to return upon my next visit to New York is the service is outstanding. The staff at the front desk, no matter how busy, are very courteous and do not make you feel rushed. When entering the building I was always greeted by someone with a genuine smile on their face. The concierge was very patient and informed. The one person that really stood out was one of the doormen. He overheard me outside speaking with my friends trying to find a nice place to hang out. He saw that we were not sure where to go and without being asked walked over to us and happily gave us some great recommendations. These small touches really do make the biggest difference.

Green Features: This is a green hotel. The rooms have a small recycling bin. Also, upon check out you can request to have your receipt e-mailed to you.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank azzurritraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa O, Manager at Hyatt Centric Times Square New York, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Hi Azzurritraveler,

Thank you so much for the great review and feedback! Glad you enjoyed our special amenities and our team. We can't wait to welcome you back and delight you to another wonderful stay in New York City!

Melissa & HTS Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

This new upscale hotel is in a great location…convenient to Times Square, but just far enough away from the crowds. We had a beautiful room on the 26th floor with two comfortable queen beds. This wasn’t a suite, but a huge room for NYC. So well designed…stylish contemporary with a touch of charm.

They thought of everything…a comfortable chair near the floor to ceiling windows to enjoy the view, individually controlled AC that was quiet and efficient, a variety of settings for the lighting, a large flat panel TV with dozens of high-def channels, great Wi-Fi, and plenty of counter space and storage. There were even two closets. The bathroom was just as nice with high-end fixtures and a large shower.

Almost better than the room itself was the staff. All were professional, but friendly and accommodating. For a large hotel, we felt like we weren’t just one of the many. The concierge service is in an area just off the lobby. They know everything and couldn’t have been more helpful. I don’t recall all their names, but a special thanks to Ryan F.

Often hotel websites make rooms look much better than they are. With the Hyatt Times Square, this is what you get. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JEFFtravels2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa O, Manager at Hyatt Centric Times Square New York, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
JEFFtravels2,

Thanks for the awesome rating and great review about our hospitality, guestroom and food & beverage amenities! We gave Ryan a pat on the back for a job well done and he said it was the "highlight of his day!"

Thanks again and hope to welcome you back to the heart of New York City!

Melissa & HTS Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Stayed one night at this hotel. The rooms were kind of small, but okay for NY standards. 45st street was closed that day for a festival, so valet parking was kind of a hassle. The staff was overall friendly, except for the host at bar 54. Don't get me wrong, the rooftop bar definitely has an amazing view of downtown, but first you have to suffer the interrogation from the host before getting on the outdoor patio. The patio is reserved space, so unless you reserved a table outside, they frown upon you going out there. Such a shame because you don't get the same views from inside. Being outside definitely makes the $25 cocktails go down a little easier.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

The plus:

1. Fantastic location - close enough to the Times Square madness without being in the middle of it. Also loved the proximity to Broadway and restaurants.

2. Very helpful staff. Special thanks to Steve who walked to the next avenue with our seven bags in chilly weather and flagged a cab for us, as the street was temporarily close due to a fire truck. He was a trooper.

3. The rooms were all newly and tastefully renovated. (We actually chose the hyatt over the hilton because of this.)

4. The humidifier that one could get on loan on request. It had a big water tank which meant it could last the entire night.

5. Allowing us to check in early at 1pm instead of 4pm. (Thank you - we really appreciate it). We had flown a long way (24 hours) and were extremely jet lagged.

The could-be-better:

1. We are frequent business travelers and always wonder why many hotels in the US don't provide bedroom slippers as readily as Asia hotels. We were relieved to read on this thread that Hyatt Times Square could provide on request, hence we did not pack ours. Alas when we were there, the hotel had run out of them. The housekeeper was very nice to explain in a handwritten card that she wasn't able to get any, after our request for two consecutive days. Blame it on our fussy feet, but it was a small mark against our otherwise, generally positive experience.

2. There is no swimming pool (which is fine), but it also meant there was no "shared" shower facility. We had checked out at noon but our flight was not till 9pm. It meant we weren't able to take a shower before our flight. I suppose we could have asked if we were able to use the spa's shower facilities, but we decided to take our shower when we reached Germany instead.

Now the important question - will we return again? If the rates stay affordable, most certainly a resounding YES!, even if it means we have to pack our own bedroom slippers *wink*..




Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rokugatsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bryans road
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

Floyd the front desk agent was AWESOME! We were able to check in early. We only tried this property b/c he reviews were great on bar 54- the highest bar in time square. We went there around 10:pm & stayed for 5min & left. No food no music, no atmosphere at all. Staff were friendly through- out the one night we stayed. The room service was good. Thanks Mr. Floyd.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#51 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,083 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#61 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,866 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#16 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#106 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,372 reviews
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Centric Times Square New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Centric Times Square New York

Property: Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Address: 135 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4004 (Formerly Hyatt Times Square New York)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Centric Times Square New York 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live the ultimate New York lifestyle at the sophisticated Hyatt Centric Times Square New York. You’ll feel like a privileged Manhattanite from the moment you walk into your city pied-a-terre, just steps from the business district and famous attractions such as Broadway theaters, Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center and the New York Public Library. Rest assured that yours will be no typical Manhattan hotel room either. Your chic apartment-style retreat, relaxing while reflecting the thrill of city life, will greet you with magnificent floor-to-ceiling windows and eye-catching original, city-themed art, including a colorful and comfy custom-designed pop-art lounge chair. You won’t be walking down any endless hallways in this 54-story New York Hotel. With only 11 spacious rooms per floor, the hotel feels intimate and residential. For those times when you’re hungry but prefer to dine at home, you can “eat in” at the hotel’s stylish George Wong-designed restaurant, or order take-out food in person, by phone or by a special app for pick up or room delivery. And when you’re ready to socialize, impress business associates or simply relax with friends, the hotel’s inviting NYC roof-top restaurant and lounge is sure to delight you with its river-to-river views, relaxed buzz and cozy indoor and outdoor spaces. You’ll also enjoy the hotel’s full floor state-of-the-art fitness center. And whether you’re de-stressing from a business meeting or prepping for a night on the town, the indulgent 4,200 square foot Timeless - Marilyn Monroe™ Spa - the only hotel spa in the area - will make you look and feel fabulous. Best of all, our in-the-know hosts will make you an instant insider to all that the Big Apple has to offer, from directions to your next meeting to the best shows, both on and off Broadway. Want to impress your client or experience the hottest new club or restaurant? It’s as easy as asking your concierge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Centric Times Square New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing