We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in Times Square”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Ranked #51 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel in Times Square”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

I stayed at this hotel in April and enjoyed it very much. The location is great, lobby lovely and the restaurant serves a very nice breakfast. They upgraded me to a good size room that was well decorated and comfortable. The bar and deck on the top of the hotel was fantastic and well worth going up to as the view of the city was fabulous and the bar had a good wine list with NYC prices.

Room Tip: If you like Times Square and the action that comes with it this hotel is a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacquelineSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,145
    946
    193
    53
    39
See reviews for
1,215
1,073
133
434
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (634)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

My daughter and I stayed here afterbooking the Hyatt at the last minute because our first choice was fully booked. How glad are we? We would now never stay anywhere else when visiting New York. Hotel is lovely, Bar 54 breathtaking, location = excellent.
However for us, most outstanding of all are the staff. The most welcoming, helpful and friendly team we have ever come across at any hotel anywhere. All of the team went above ane beyond to make our stay memorable. I have to mention Julian in the roof top bar, to the best barman I've met James, in the diner, and finally, the wonderful Walter at the front of the hotel. We're still talking about you Walter. Thank you aswel Ryan.
Hope to see you all again later in the year with my husband.
Kerry and Hayley.

Room Tip: Room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hayley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
155 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

Universally friendly and helpful staff. Great location just off Times Square and easy walking distance to Broadway theatres and subway. Rooms are spacious for New York and newly renovated with modern, clean decor. A significant step up from the Millenium hotel across the road after we had to move because of weather delays.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GourmandAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
163 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

What a fantastic hotel - we loved everything from the warm and friendly welcome from the valet/concierge team, to reception checking us in a bit earlier, the facilities and the room.

The rooftop bar is amazing - make sure you go!!! Cocktails are a tad pricey, but it's worth it to sit outside on a nice day with a fantastic view over the city.

Ask the guys for recommendations, they gave us a few great ones!

We went to the spa and had some treatments there too. The massages were excellent - Brits, bear in mind that prices don't include a 20% service charge (that knocked the wind out of me a bit!)

My only complain is that the free wifi zone is in reception only. For such a big hotel it can get a bit rammed in reception with people trying to access it at once.

Room Tip: Floors 18+ have better views over the city (although I believe cost more)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tanewman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa O, Manager at Hyatt Centric Times Square New York, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
You rock, Tanewman! Thanks for the fantastic review about our hospitality, hotel and services. Your recommendation and feedback means a lot to each and every staff member of the Hyatt Times Square. We hope to welcome you back and best wishes to you!

Melissa & HTS Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

Nice hotel, clean and cozy. Very Modern. Friendly front staff. Very well situated. This would deserve a four stars, maybe 5.
The average reason is the following: Over prize breakfast at the T45 and extremely, extremely bad services at the Sky lounge. These guys have no idea of what they are doing. We had to make a scene to be serve after waiting 20 minutes without no one even looking at us. We got free drinks out of it, which was nice, but it would have been better to feel welcome from the start, been long time guest paying a lot of money at the hotel. And bad set up for sitting at the terrace. Too bad, it’s difficult to have a seat. Could be easily much more efficient.

Room Tip: Make sure to have a room with a view, as high as possible and have breakfast helse were.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ocaterineta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

Stayed one night for my boyfriend's birthday. We went to see Motown. The Hotel is beautiful. It's pretty new and modern. The room size was bigger than most hotels I have stayed in NY. The service was great, all the way around. Love the room setup and the white robes!!! Classy all the way. Great location if you are in the Time Square area. Will go back. Really made the weekend special. The view from the roof top is breath taking. Your name shows up on the TV screen to welcome you, nice touch. :)

Room Tip: We had the view of time square from an angle, but it was great.
See more room tips
Green Features: Staff was friendly and professional. I love a nice bathroom, and they have it!!!. Plenty of outlits for all the eletronics. Very clean and we felt safe. I love the city and if I could afford it, would go every weekend.
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqui1055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa O, Manager at Hyatt Centric Times Square New York, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Hi Jacqui1055,

Thanks for celebrating the special birthday with us! The entire team and I aim to create more memorable moments for you and all of our guests. Should travel bring you back, please let any member of our team know. It would be a delight to welcome you and your loved ones back!

Melissa & HTS Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

This new Hyatt in Times Square is great, 50 floors and it feels like a boutique hotel.

The rooms are spacious, well appointed and even though I didn't spend a lot of time in the room it was a comfortable place to return to after a long day.

What surprised me was the number of international visitors that were in the hotel. I. Am a Hyatt Platinum member and only found out about the hotel a few weeks ago.

In talking to one of the guests they knew as soon as it opened and booked right away.

For me this is my go to hotel in the city convenient location and a great staff that made you feel welcome the moment you enter.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank kaberk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa O, Manager at Hyatt Centric Times Square New York, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Hi Kaberk,

Thank you very much for posting your pleasant experience and exceptional rating! The entire team, our General Manager and I are very pleased. We hope to have the pleasure of meeting you on your next visit.

Take care and safe travels!

All the best,
Melissa & HTS Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#49 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,117 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#61 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,904 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#17 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#102 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,465 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#76 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Centric Times Square New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Centric Times Square New York

Property: Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Address: 135 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4004 (Formerly Hyatt Times Square New York)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Centric Times Square New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live the ultimate New York lifestyle at the sophisticated Hyatt Centric Times Square New York. You’ll feel like a privileged Manhattanite from the moment you walk into your city pied-a-terre, just steps from the business district and famous attractions such as Broadway theaters, Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center and the New York Public Library. Rest assured that yours will be no typical Manhattan hotel room either. Your chic apartment-style retreat, relaxing while reflecting the thrill of city life, will greet you with magnificent floor-to-ceiling windows and eye-catching original, city-themed art, including a colorful and comfy custom-designed pop-art lounge chair. You won’t be walking down any endless hallways in this 54-story New York Hotel. With only 11 spacious rooms per floor, the hotel feels intimate and residential. For those times when you’re hungry but prefer to dine at home, you can “eat in” at the hotel’s stylish George Wong-designed restaurant, or order take-out food in person, by phone or by a special app for pick up or room delivery. And when you’re ready to socialize, impress business associates or simply relax with friends, the hotel’s inviting NYC roof-top restaurant and lounge is sure to delight you with its river-to-river views, relaxed buzz and cozy indoor and outdoor spaces. You’ll also enjoy the hotel’s full floor state-of-the-art fitness center. And whether you’re de-stressing from a business meeting or prepping for a night on the town, the indulgent 4,200 square foot Timeless - Marilyn Monroe™ Spa - the only hotel spa in the area - will make you look and feel fabulous. Best of all, our in-the-know hosts will make you an instant insider to all that the Big Apple has to offer, from directions to your next meeting to the best shows, both on and off Broadway. Want to impress your client or experience the hottest new club or restaurant? It’s as easy as asking your concierge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Centric Times Square New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing