We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is great advantage !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Ranked #49 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Phuket, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Location is great advantage !”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Very convenient location, good for travelers who would like to save time traveling; the hotel is less than 1 minute walk to Timesquare. Closed to shopping street, subway and walking distance (10 minutes) to Port of Authority or bus terminal.

Rooftop bar has outdoor deck with superb view looking south of Manhattan, you are able to see the Rockefeller center very close, look down to bit of Timesquare and sight of One World Trade center on lower manhattan.

In addition, there are many local Nyc restaurants nearby (not too far from ShakeShack if you love burgers !) if not the hotel has small cafe near lobby.

Free wifi is available only at lobby area. In-room wifi requires payment.

*Great location, clean and modern room interior and amenities

Room Tip: The higher floor the better view of sky, otherwise all you see is building in the opposite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rainny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,367
    1,014
    209
    54
    41
See reviews for
1,340
1,176
149
471
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (664)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wyalusing, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Great location, excellent value for the money compared to other hotels in the area. The extra charge for a room with a view is well worth it. Front door staff member "Chester' was a standout! Will book again when back in midtown area

Room Tip: Room with a view is worth the modest extra charge
See more room tips
Green Features: I haven't the slightest clue about this. The review seems to require I write something
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan F, Manager at Hyatt Centric Times Square New York, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Hi Jonathan,

Thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to share your expereince! Chester starts in 10 minutes so I will go and thank him for a job well done.

We look forward to seeing you again,
all the best,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

This is a relatively new hotel, I think it was opened late 2013. Room is spacious for Manhattan standard. Bed and bathroom are comfortable. Fantastic location for tourist attractions, eg Times Square. I used "yelp" to find restaurants and there are plenty of good restaurants around this location. This is 5th hotel that I have stayed in Manhattan, I would rank this as #1 or #2 (compared to Westin Times Square). Based on price, as Hyatt was more cost effective for the dates that I was after that's why I tried thus hotel and would definitely come back.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Asoetanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa O, Manager at Hyatt Centric Times Square New York, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Hi Asoetanto,

We love you, too! Thanks for giving us the opportunity to serve YOU and glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back soon and we wish you all the best!

Melissa & Hyatt Times Square Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Stayed at this Hyatt with my sister on the final leg of our 3 week Europe vacation to help eliminate jet-lag, be a tourist, and see a play. We booked the hotel because of the location and Brand, and recent opening. We loved the staff, very friendly~always smiling. "Rey" in the restaurant provided great service and also helped with some area Broadway play tips. Another very noteable mention is "Chester" who works the front of the hotel. He greeted us when we first arrived and made us feel like we had known him for years. He helped us with our luggage and also some area tips. Beds were very comfortable, and rooms very clean. Great hotel, we would stay there again on our next trip to New York.

Room Tip: Higher floors a little warmer as heat rises, especially in the hallways
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shoppermd50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa O, Manager at Hyatt Centric Times Square New York, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Shoppermd50,

Thank you very much for choosing the Hyatt Times Square for your recent trip! We’re so glad to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations with us. We gave Chester and Rey a “high-five” for taking great care of you.

Thanks again and let us know if we can assist with booking your room for your next visit.

Mel & Hyatt Times Square Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

My daughter and I went to NYC to see a couple of shows. Normally I'd stay as far from Times Square as possible, but given that the whole purpose of this trip was Broadway, I decided we should stay nearby. This hotel is very new - opened Dec. 3rd (we were told this as we unloaded bags from the cab). The lobby is small but nice, and they understood we were in a hurry to check in because our flight had been delayed. Everyone we met who worked there was friendly and helpful. Our room was, indeed, very small. But this didn't strike me as odd given that it is NYC and real estate is expensive. The room was really nice - clean, comfortable bedding, very nice new bathroom - and Quiet. How on earth they made this room right in the heart of Times Square so quiet is beyond me, but it was great. Didn't even hear any hallway noise. The cons: if you are looking for a larger room (and yes, having more than two bags would have made things a bit tight) this probably isn't the place for you; when I got back from dinner on our first night I was surprised to find that there was no mini-bar. This really wasn't a problem; I had been looking forward to a glass of wine in the room after a sort of rough travel day, but instead just went to bed. There *is* a small fridge, so if you want wine or beer you can buy it and store it in that. There is a Starbucks across the street, a Pret a Manger just down the block and two Irish pubs (again, how is it so quiet??) on either side of the hotel. I'd definitely stay here again if we planned a Broadway-based trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lulusmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suburb of Boston
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Hotel was in a fantastic location. Room was clean. Received key upon check-in and found out the room was occupied already. (Would have been scary for the guest if he/she was in the shower when we walked in!). Went back to reception desk to get another room. Front desk staff was very apologetic, said there was a glitch in the system, assigned us to a different room and then personally escorted us to our new room. Noticed in other reviews that each room was supposed to come with bathrobe. Ours did not but I didn't realize this until our check- out day. We did request slippers which were brought to our room immediately. Beds were comfortable, bathroom was spacious. Light controls were funky and we often turned off all lights by mistake when we were trying to just turn off a single light. I would go back due to the newness of building and location.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank MotherofTwoandDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2014

My sister and I stayed here for 9 nights this month. The hotel itself is 1 minute maximum walking distance from the infamous Times Square, and the subway entrances are endless around this area, making travel simple. We stayed in a double room on the 35th floor and the view is truly that of a concrete jungle - buildings as far as you can see. The room was cleaned daily to a high standard, and amenities were replaced as needed automatically. The hotel offers little extras (e.g. hair straightener) that can be used for the duration of the stay for no extra cost. Downside: the wifi is expensive and not included in the cost of the room. We also had an issue with our thermostat at around 1am on night/morning (one of the buttons stopped working), and had to call front desk twice to have a technician come and fix it. Room service is also VERY expensive and the quality does not meet the standard you'd expect for the price you're paying - you'd be better off going down to Applebee's Times Square (5min walk) where you get a good meal that doesn't hurt the wallet. However, overall the stay was fabulous, the doorman was friendly, and you could get back to the hotel knowing that your room is going to be in fantastic condition and that you can simply relax.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sevanah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#56 of 466 in New York City
3,177 reviews
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#74 of 466 in New York City
4,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#21 of 466 in New York City
2,360 reviews
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#67 of 466 in New York City
1,966 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#70 of 466 in New York City
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Centric Times Square New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Centric Times Square New York

Property: Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Address: 135 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4004 (Formerly Hyatt Times Square New York)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Centric Times Square New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live the ultimate New York lifestyle at the sophisticated Hyatt Centric Times Square New York. You’ll feel like a privileged Manhattanite from the moment you walk into your city pied-a-terre, just steps from the business district and famous attractions such as Broadway theaters, Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center and the New York Public Library. Rest assured that yours will be no typical Manhattan hotel room either. Your chic apartment-style retreat, relaxing while reflecting the thrill of city life, will greet you with magnificent floor-to-ceiling windows and eye-catching original, city-themed art, including a colorful and comfy custom-designed pop-art lounge chair. You won’t be walking down any endless hallways in this 54-story New York Hotel. With only 11 spacious rooms per floor, the hotel feels intimate and residential. For those times when you’re hungry but prefer to dine at home, you can “eat in” at the hotel’s stylish George Wong-designed restaurant, or order take-out food in person, by phone or by a special app for pick up or room delivery. And when you’re ready to socialize, impress business associates or simply relax with friends, the hotel’s inviting NYC roof-top restaurant and lounge is sure to delight you with its river-to-river views, relaxed buzz and cozy indoor and outdoor spaces. You’ll also enjoy the hotel’s full floor state-of-the-art fitness center. And whether you’re de-stressing from a business meeting or prepping for a night on the town, the indulgent 4,200 square foot Timeless - Marilyn Monroe™ Spa - the only hotel spa in the area - will make you look and feel fabulous. Best of all, our in-the-know hosts will make you an instant insider to all that the Big Apple has to offer, from directions to your next meeting to the best shows, both on and off Broadway. Want to impress your client or experience the hottest new club or restaurant? It’s as easy as asking your concierge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hyatt Centric Times Square New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing