We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“!!! Perfect Location - Heart of Times Sq !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Ranked #55 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 9, 2014

!!! Perfect for a Weekend Stay in the heart of New York City, Times Square !!! It should be said that all rooms are above the 23rd floor which means that you get to be in the belly of the beast and yet sleep soundly. Very new hotel with a boutique feel and small tastefully decorated lobby. The hotel is only open a few weeks old so the roof top lounge and a few other features still are not open. We were the first to stay at the Premier Suite given to us, which was pretty cool.

The Bedroom, Nice Large Comfy Bed. Loved the white comforter that they change between visitors, no germs bedspread. Slightly odd ornamentation above the bed which included a small porcelain figure that looked like a balloon animal !!!

The Hotel offers Great amenities in case one needs it, its the small touches that makes a 5 Star experience. The bathroom had a heated floor, which you could adjust. Bathroom had a rain style shower. Cool lighting options. Overall the room design was great.

Suite features a private terrace, soundproofed floor-to-ceiling windows that overlook the Times Square area, one king bed and a 47-inch flat-screen TV. The sleek, residential vibe includes a spacious living and dining area, plus an eclectic collection of New York City-themed artwork complemented by a backdrop of neutral, light-toned fabrics and warm woods. The suite features a modern master bathroom with rain shower and separate soaking tub.

The Negatives would be: The TV is using IP and freezes up constantly which became annoying while watching Morning news. The Toilet in the bathroom was not functioning well, required at least 3-4 flushes and had a odd odor coming from it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AdnanSamia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,887)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,027 - 3,033 of 3,889 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2014

I spent 5 days at this Hyatt on a business trip. The location of the hotel is great if you want to be near Times Square and the Broadway shows. It's also a reasonable walk to most midtown locations. The hotel is new, so the facilities are clean and in good shape. The staff was very friendly and professional. The rooms were functional, the bed comfortable, and the shower nice. Those are the positives. As for the negatives, the room service is below par. They deliver food in brown paper bags with plastic utensils and cups -- as if you were just ordering take out. The restaurant in the hotel is overpriced and underwhelming. I think it's supposed to be an upscale diner, but the food is average, the selections limited, and the waiters are made to wear awful uniforms. The décor of the hotel rooms and hallways reminds me of the things I don't like about 70's style. The rooms are fairly basic and bland. If you're looking for a special place to stay, this is not it. If all you expect is a comfortable bed and good location, it's a fine option if the price is right.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SoCalTMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Took over 1 hour to deliver robe which should've bern in room upon arrival. When I askef why they said "we forgot"!!! Heating system blew hot and then cold air out making sleeping and being comfortable impossible. Checked out day early because it was so terrible. Never again.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yogagirljp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan F, Manager at Hyatt Centric Times Square New York, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Dear YogagirlJP,

Greetings from NYC and thank you for sharing with us your feedback; I was actually made aware of our error on the day it happened and want to assure you I spoke personally to the associates involved. We know that this sort of mistake is unacceptable and we respect that guests expect better of us and we are working towards zero defects.

We don’t have robes in all of our rooms as a standard but the long wait is still inexcusable and for that I apologize unreservedly.

If you would like to discuss further feel free to call the hotel and ask for me personally,
with best regards,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

From the moment we pulled up and Walter greeted us we only met smiling,happy helpful staff. Check in was a breeze and our room was spotless,and comfy. Refrigerator coffee maker and big stall shower, even a magnifying mirror.
As for the restaurant we actually like it. One of the best steakhouses in NY is across the street and there is no lack of restaurants in the area. We love a NY diner experience for breakfast and the staff is very accommodating with special requests. Had a great salad with salmon done to perfection for dinner one night. Had a great steak across the street another night.

Room Tip: The higher floors have a better view. We were on the 32 floor facing 45th and Times Square not bad.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan F, Manager at Hyatt Centric Times Square New York, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Dear Elaine,

Greetings from NYC; I am thrilled to hear you have found a place to call home in NYC! Thank you for the wonderful feedback about Walter, I saw him yesterday and shook his hand and thanked him personally for looking after you so well.

I trust that on your next visit you will have some time to check out our newly opened spa on the 3rd floor and our 54th floor rooftop bar that opens on Valentine's day!

Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you soon,
All the best,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We booked 3 rooms in Hyatt Times Square for a week mixed with business and vacation.

The rooms have nice decor, BUT...lack of closet space...in our room there was only 1closet door and 3 drawers.

Bedside table has a mock drawer...when you open it is like a support to put your laptop and not a real drawer...when you checked in for a week stay during the winter, this can be annoying!

They don't have room service...there is a restaurant that can deliver to your room in take out packaging and is not 24h.... but for the cost of room service. The first day we ordered breakfast (the order came all wrong!!) for U$ 70,00 for 2. Save your money and go to Starbucks across the street!

The hotel is in soft open mode...ok...so they placed us on 28th floor, in which only 2 elevators could reach...on the 3rd day I was leaving for a meeting and I've got stuck in one elevator for a few minutes.

On the 4th day I had to wait the elevator for 15min...And it only came up when I called reception for the second time. I've made complaints about this situation and the staff was nice...They removed some charges of my bill to make up for the situation.

Be aware of street noise on lower levels.

There is a very nice gym in site and they were about to open the spa....

Maybe you should wait a little longer to stay there...for sure there are some adjustments to be made!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cenobre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed at the Hyatt Times Square for Super Bowl weekend. We had considered many options and happened upon a good deal for this hotel. We do not regret our choice. The room was good size, the bed was comfy, there was no problem with noise. We had a nice view of Times Square. We were put on the 32nd floor in room 3202. We were greeted warmly upon arrival, the concierge provided excellent directions to Penn Station including what subway lines to use to get to and from Penn. The doormen were excellent. T45 (on site restaurant) offered up tasty burgers and fries as well as a delicious chocolate banana shake. Was a little on the pricy side but we were visiting New York and using the hotel restaurant, it was what I expected. Justin, our waiter, was extremely helpful on both occasions we used the restaurant and T45 is very lucky to have him on staff. The comment about the elevators going to specific floors is spot on but, once used to it, it wasn't a problem. Our only disappointment was that the rooftop bar wasn't yet open. The next time we go to NYC, we will certainly be looking to stay at the Hyatt Time square.

Room Tip: Having only stayed on the 32nd floor, I would recommend that floor or higher.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fugitive48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Very last minute trip to New York for me; had to plan everything a day out. I had heard about this hotel but didn't realize it had opened yet (opened about 6 weeks before my stay). Newer Hyatt concept. I couldn't have been more pleased with my stay.

For starters, I was greeted on the street by Pablo, the Asst Guest Svcs Manager. He knew my name and what time I was supposed to arrive. Outstanding service. Check in was efficient, very smart staff there. Express elevators to the 34th floor (what a view!). Hallway signage was like the flipping number/letters at Grand Central, very cool. Room was contemporary and just my style. Very cool lighting pre-sets like 'mood light' or 'night light'. Shower? Forget about it....colossal shower head form the ceiling...perfect for a taller guy like me; this was one of the best showers I had ever had in a hotel.

Liam, another manager called to check on how my stay was going. There was a great Irish pub next door with roof top deck. The hotel was only a half block off 7th Ave, perfect location. It only took me 10 min to walk to Penn Station with my suitcase. This will be my new home away from home in the Big Apple.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor. It is a very tall hotel.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EuroBish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#63 of 468 in New York City
3,222 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#185 of 468 in New York City
8,052 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#62 of 468 in New York City
6,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#108 of 468 in New York City
6,847 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#43 of 468 in New York City
3,577 reviews
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Centric Times Square New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Centric Times Square New York

Address: 135 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4004 (Formerly Hyatt Times Square New York)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $241 - $628 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Centric Times Square New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live the ultimate New York lifestyle at the sophisticated Hyatt Centric Times Square New York. You’ll feel like a privileged Manhattanite from the moment you walk into your city pied-a-terre, just steps from the business district and famous attractions such as Broadway theaters, Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center and the New York Public Library. Rest assured that yours will be no typical Manhattan hotel room either. Your chic apartment-style retreat, relaxing while reflecting the thrill of city life, will greet you with magnificent floor-to-ceiling windows and eye-catching original, city-themed art, including a colorful and comfy custom-designed pop-art lounge chair. You won’t be walking down any endless hallways in this 54-story New York Hotel. With only 11 spacious rooms per floor, the hotel feels intimate and residential. For those times when you’re hungry but prefer to dine at home, you can “eat in” at the hotel’s stylish George Wong-designed restaurant, or order take-out food in person, by phone or by a special app for pick up or room delivery. And when you’re ready to socialize, impress business associates or simply relax with friends, the hotel’s inviting NYC roof-top restaurant and lounge is sure to delight you with its river-to-river views, relaxed buzz and cozy indoor and outdoor spaces. You’ll also enjoy the hotel’s full floor state-of-the-art fitness center. And whether you’re de-stressing from a business meeting or prepping for a night on the town, the indulgent 4,200 square foot Timeless - Marilyn Monroe™ Spa - the only hotel spa in the area - will make you look and feel fabulous. Best of all, our in-the-know hosts will make you an instant insider to all that the Big Apple has to offer, from directions to your next meeting to the best shows, both on and off Broadway. Want to impress your client or experience the hottest new club or restaurant? It’s as easy as asking your concierge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Centric Times Square New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing