We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent New Hotel in the heart of Times Square!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Ranked #47 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Florence, Alabama
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent New Hotel in the heart of Times Square!”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

My wife and I and two other couples stayed for the final night of our vacation to NYC. We stayed at another hotel in Times Square the first few nights, which was nice, but this one was so nice. Everything new, perfect location in the heart of TS. We shared our room with another couple and the beds were nice sized queens and the room was much larger than other rooms we have had in NYC. The bathroom was great and fairly large with heated floor and rain shower. The room was so modern and high tech I actually had a hard time figuring some of it out. This is our fourth trip to NYC and we have stayed in about 6 different hotels but this one would have to be my favorite. Definitely worth it. The restaurant wasn't open yet and so I can really only speak about the room. Didn't try any of the other stuff. The staff was very friendly and accomidating.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tonyemilyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,289
    983
    202
    53
    39
See reviews for
1,276
1,144
145
463
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (655)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I am a Platinum member of the Hyatt Gold Passport reward program. I stayed at this Hotel using my Two Free Nights after signing up for their Chase Hyatt Card.

The Hotel is located between 6th and 7th Avenue on West 45th Street in the heart of Midtown Manhattan, bustling with Broadway patrons filing into restaurants nearby. And thick traffic honking thru Times Square.

I used the AirTrain at JFK to reach the hotel via Jamaica Station where I switched to the E Subway Train, which is the Express into Manhattan. That cost me $7.50 one way.

The Hotel did not have my requested room ready at check-in, which was to be a Double Queen Room. My nephew was joining me at the Hotel later. Steven, at the Front Desk, immediately offered me an upgrade for a King Bed with a view of Times Square, which I accepted. He personally took me to my room to see if I approved. And then 15 minutes later called me to let me know my original room request was ready. Steven, again, personally moved me to my preferred room, again, with a view.

My request for late 2PM checkout was approved on the spot.

The room is a good size and there is a desk with lamp. Floor lamp in the corner with a sitting chair and side table; reading lamps and night lights below the night stands, all controlled by buttons on the wall near the bed and desk area.

The Flat Screen Television offered all Digital HD programming. There are 3 STARZ CINEMA channels to watch and a long list of the usual channels like Food Network, ESPN, CNN, etc. You can connect your personal devices to the Screen at the desk.

Guest Services sent up sundries I had not packed—toothbrush, toothpaste, deodorant and mouthwash-- all gratis. As I put them away in the bathroom, I realized the tile floor is heated by control panel on the wall!! Fantastic in mid December NYC!! What a treat to return from the snow and wind outside and stand on the deeply warming tiles.

The beds are wonderful. My nephew asked me if he snored all night, which he did. He only snores when he sleeps very deeply and soundly—and he greatly approved of the bed. I slept well, too.

The restaurant is not completed. The bar on the rooftop is not completed. Steven offered to have sandwiches brought up from the tiny food market in the lobby. I think there is more option in walking next door to the deli which features everything you could want including a salad bar, deli counter, sushi and udon noodles, pizza, etc. Other nearby places to eat that we saw include Olive Garden, McDonalds, Planet Hollywood, Buca di Beppo, Subway, TGIFs, and many many other food joints.

Everything is near the hotel. 30 Rockefeller Plaza with the famed ice rink and Christmas Tree, St. Patricks Cathedral and St. Thomas Cathedral, FENDI, Tiffanys, The Rockettes, Broadway Shows, and at least 3 different Subway lines with multiple entries in every direction steps from the Hotel. Great Police presence at all hours, too.

I asked Guest Services where I could print documents. They directed me to computers near the Lobby behind Front Desk. I was shocked to see it was not free-- $5.95 for 15 minutes of Internet, charged to your credit card, and additional money to print pages. The machine would not read my card so I asked Stacey at Front Desk for help. She graciously let me log in to my Gmail at her Front Desk Terminal, and printed my document. So grateful for that small favor.

Check out was quick and easy. They removed the Internet charge for my stay because I am Platinum Member. My nephew and I dove into a taxi out front, hailed by the doorman, and we were at Penn Station in 10 minutes flat—I timed it.

Can’t wait to come back to HYATT TIMES SQUARE!! The staff rocks and the location is not to be beaten, for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for late check out. Otherwise...11 AM.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GREENCHILEcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan F, Manager at Hyatt Centric Times Square New York, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear GREENCHILEcam,
Greetings from Times Square; as a highly valued Platinum member I really appreciate you choosing to come and visit our new location and its wonderful to hear that on the whole you had a great stay. We are working very hard to have the diner and bar open as soon as possible so I am hopeful that upon your return we will have those outlets up and running. In fact, hot off the press, the diner will be open this Sunday and so far its looking great!
With regard to the computer in the lobby; it is actually free for 15 minutes (5 pages printing included) and it is clearly up to us to be communicating that better and we shall certainly work on that; at the very least I am really pleased that Stacey was able to help, I will high five her next time I see her.
Thank you again for staying with us and if you would like a specific room with a heated bathroom floor on your next trip, feel free to give us a call ahead of time and it would be our pleasure to block it for you.
With best regards,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Great new property, attentive and helpful staff, nice sized rooms and comfortable beds. The only exception would be the pillows, they flatten out to nearly nothing. All in all a good experience and would definitely return! Once the restaurant opens it should be even better.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank arbolger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumberton, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Even if the experience of staying in a brand new hotel doesn't sway you, the amazingly helpful and friendly staff of the new Hyatt will win you over. The beds are comfortable, the location is right off of Times Square with subway stops nearby, and the staff tripped over themselves to make sure that our needs were met. Steve and Walter were especially helpful, but truly everyone contributed to a great stay. I will definitely return to this hotel and appreciate such a great experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Really enjoyed my stay at the brand new Hyatt Times Square. When I arrived the very young hotel staff welcomed me with open arms and check-in was a breeze. I requested a king view room on an upper floor and that's exactly what I received. The room was very spacious and offered a superb view. It's location is in the middle of all the action and within walking distance of a huge array of restaurants, shops and the Broadway theaters. With this hotel only being open now for just over a week the diner style restaurant in the lobby along with the rooftop lounge have not been completed and the guest rooms are only available up to floor 29 but don't let that keep you from thinking about staying here.

Room Tip: Request a "view" room on a higher floor for the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank evvtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

The lobby is modern, minimalist, bright white walk to the elevators. Many happy staff everywhere on their third day open. We were the first to stay in our king room, 1811. The sleeping area was 13 by 15, with floor to ceiling window, full length mirror, safe, coffee, mini-fridge. Extra for internet in room. A hall to the modern bathroom, shower only. The location was perfect for theater. The hotel rooftop restaurant is not yet open. Hotel has Irish pubs on either side, but it was very quiet in the room on Saturday night. Manhattan hotel prices were very high on this tree-lighting weekend, but the Hyatt was a relative bargain.

Room Tip: If you need a bathtub, check in advance. They gave us late 1pm checkout just by asking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sunbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

Anytime you can stay in any new hotel in the Big Apple is a treat. This hotel is centrally located, half a block to Broadway and 2.5 blocks from Time Square. The staff is young, eager and helpful. The room still has the new room smell, small but no smaller than NYC standard. Room is functional and the bathroom is shower only so you don't have to deal with disgusting hotel shower curtains. Good for business and leisure. Good value too.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Frank d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#57 of 468 in New York City
3,158 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#73 of 468 in New York City
3,960 reviews
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#22 of 468 in New York City
2,348 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#77 of 468 in New York City
864 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#106 of 468 in New York City
6,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Centric Times Square New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Centric Times Square New York

Property: Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Address: 135 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4004 (Formerly Hyatt Times Square New York)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Centric Times Square New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live the ultimate New York lifestyle at the sophisticated Hyatt Centric Times Square New York. You’ll feel like a privileged Manhattanite from the moment you walk into your city pied-a-terre, just steps from the business district and famous attractions such as Broadway theaters, Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center and the New York Public Library. Rest assured that yours will be no typical Manhattan hotel room either. Your chic apartment-style retreat, relaxing while reflecting the thrill of city life, will greet you with magnificent floor-to-ceiling windows and eye-catching original, city-themed art, including a colorful and comfy custom-designed pop-art lounge chair. You won’t be walking down any endless hallways in this 54-story New York Hotel. With only 11 spacious rooms per floor, the hotel feels intimate and residential. For those times when you’re hungry but prefer to dine at home, you can “eat in” at the hotel’s stylish George Wong-designed restaurant, or order take-out food in person, by phone or by a special app for pick up or room delivery. And when you’re ready to socialize, impress business associates or simply relax with friends, the hotel’s inviting NYC roof-top restaurant and lounge is sure to delight you with its river-to-river views, relaxed buzz and cozy indoor and outdoor spaces. You’ll also enjoy the hotel’s full floor state-of-the-art fitness center. And whether you’re de-stressing from a business meeting or prepping for a night on the town, the indulgent 4,200 square foot Timeless - Marilyn Monroe™ Spa - the only hotel spa in the area - will make you look and feel fabulous. Best of all, our in-the-know hosts will make you an instant insider to all that the Big Apple has to offer, from directions to your next meeting to the best shows, both on and off Broadway. Want to impress your client or experience the hottest new club or restaurant? It’s as easy as asking your concierge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, HotelPower, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Centric Times Square New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing