We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spanish Tapas in a small place!”
Review of Casa Mono

Casa Mono
Reserve with OpenTable
Casa Mono is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #687 of 13,826 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $40
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Gramercy Park
Cross street: 17th Street
Transit: 4, 5, 6, N, Q, R, W and L trains to 14th Street/Union Square.
Description: Casa Mono features raciones of Catalan specialties and serves dishes from all corners of Spain. It was awarded 2 stars from the New York Times shortly after its opening and was the highest rated Spanish restaurant in the 2006 and 2007 editions of Zagat. Casa Mono boasts a wine list of nearly 600 wines, representing all that is of quality in the rapidly expanding world of Spanish Wine. Our wine list was awarded the Wine Enthusiast Magazine Award of Unique Distinction in 2007, and has earned The Wine Spectator's Award of Excellence for 2005 through 2007. It was recently awarded with The Wine Spectator's Best of Award of Excellence for 2008, as well as being rated 9.5 out of 10 in the Spanish wine magazine Sibaritas.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Spanish Tapas in a small place!”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

The food was good in general, in special The Foie Gras, but the restaurant is so small and the tables are unconfortable. One person a little bit fat will be difficult to sit.
The service was inattentive. I think they need to change the tables and reduce the capacity for better confort for the customers.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fabio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    155
    44
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Once Here and You Will Return”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Yes! One of my favorite restaurants in the city is Casa Mono. Tucked away in a corner of a quiet street by Union Square and by Gramercy areas with doors that open out in the summer for fresh breeze, I reminisce being in Europe. Select any tapas in the menu - you can't go wrong. My favorites are razor clams a la Plancha, sweet breads ala fennel, and for dessert, their crema catalan con bunnuelos. I love eating off the batter from the laurel or bay leaf! It's different. I either drop by for a late lunch by myselt, eat with friends or family.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foodyholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun Atmosphere - Great Food”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We visited Casa Mono for a late night meal and I have to say, the food was awesome. When we got there, there was a bit of a wait, so we visited Bar Jamon behind the restaurant for a glass of wine. Based off the description on the menu, my boyfriend and I couldn't resist ordering 6 plates. Yes - SIX between two people and we aren't large in size. The plates were of sizable portions, so it was more than enough to eat. Everything was so good we decided to order dessert. The Crema Catalana did not disappoint by any means. Overall the restaurant is very small inside, but that is what adds to it's charm. The tables are close together, which why I don't consider this a romantic restaurant, but it is fine for a date night. The experience of tasting and sharing made the night enjoyable as well as the knowledgable wait staff.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Krea77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Cozy and fun”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is a very small restaurant which feels a little bigger because the kitchen is partially open to viewing . It filled up quickly by 6PM and the energy within was infectious. They recommend ordering 3-4 plates per person so it can get expensive quickly but the urge to order "one of everything" is difficult to resist ! We enjoyed it .

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank okoshi2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“We had a great time!”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Casa Mono is a fun and bustling restaurant with great lively food. We were in a group of five and we could not stop ordering the great tapas offered. The food is excellent and simple, the wine selection is good. Our server and host were kind and accommodating, I say this because the 5th member of our party was unexpected and he came in the middle of the meal … they had no problem in adding an additional chair without any hassles. We left this place a couple of hours later with great big smiles.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Guilherme R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Mono also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Casa Mono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing