We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best place to have breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Alice's Tea Cup

Alice's Tea Cup
Ranked #31 of 582 Coffee & Tea in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The best place to have breakfast!”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Super cute place and the food is great. The service was good and the variety of teas huge. I totally recommend it! Try the pumpkin scones - delicious!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BibiBlocksberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    171
    55
    31
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“More than just Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This has become a standard ...make that THE standard - of our family trips to New York City. Sure, an "Alice in Wonderland/Through the Looking Glass" theme is an obvious for a tea shop. But make no mistake - they've taken it to the nines. What's more, it would be entirely predictable for someone creating such a place to rely on the theme and environment as a solid draw while actually serving mediocre food. Not so here. In fact, the food and tea at Alice's would be THE draw for any other such location without the theme. Their scones are incomparable as is the rest of the menu. Expectations are never met at Alice's ...everything here far exceeds your expectations. I can't recommend this highly enough. And, sure, I have a daughter and, yes, its a great family place ....but my wife and I also insist on visiting Alice's when we're in New York whether our daughter is with us or not.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Adorable! Amazing scones!”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Check this place out! probably some of the best scones I've ever had! Great place for a sunday brunch....order some tea or coffee and just munch on the tasty scones. ANd did I mention the place is adorable!? Check it out. A little fairy tale nestled in the city.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, New York, United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great for little girls of all ages”
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

My daughter told us about this place. It's a fun place to eat and the food is quite good. An experience to be had while in NYC.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dannerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Tea”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My fiance and I stumbled across this by just randomly walking around in New York. I fell in love immediately. The place is absolutely charming. Unfortunately for us, the restaurant was closing so we were only able to order tea on the go. I had the birthday tea, but my favorite was the tea I chose to bring home, Brandy Apricot. If you are a tea lover, you have to try it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracieh10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alice's Tea Cup also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Alice's Tea Cup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing