We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!”

Barking Dog Luncheonette
Ranked #2,575 of 13,559 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Upper East Side
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Just had an excellent evening meal here with the family. Great choice of food, plenty of variety, cooked fresh, so very hot when it arrived to the table. Daughter said it was the best ribs she'd ever had!! Will be going back for breakfast very soon

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank bec21tt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    46
    19
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston Lancashire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Barking Mad not to try it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Visited with our friends from Texas on several occasions over a five day period. The atmosphere was cosy, but a little dimly lit for our liking although adequate. Service was prompt, friendly and efficient, the food was good and the portions were more than sufficient. Waiting in our nearby hotel lobby for transportation to JFK after having a superb brunch which will certainly keep us going till we arrive back in UK. Well done Barking Dog, we will call again.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aspelsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
94 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good place for Brunch when on the UES”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Ok, been hearing about this place for awhile, so with friends from out of town who live on the east side on a beautiful Sunday early afternoon, we ventured over to the Barking Dog for brunch. With weather being awesome we elected to eat outside. It's a dog friendly restaurant so you should probably like dogs if eating outside. I would say the breakfast food we ordered was average to good, but your standard fare..i.e. omelets, pancakes, oatmeal, fruits and grains, etc. Nothing really stood out, but you'll be full. They do have egg whites and turkey bacon & sausage which is always a plus; though have had better turkey bacon elsewhere. The prices are reasonable and service was good; believe our bill was about $60 for three people. And though it was crowded with a line, we didnt have to wait that long to be seated. So wouldn't exactly go out of my way to come again, but if happen to be on the UES looking for brunch, give it a try.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SeeknParadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
147 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Barking Dog martini was wonderful!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

We had lunch at the Barking Dog yesterday before leaving the city. It was the perfect place to unwind and the martini I had was delicious. Service was a bit slow but since we weren't in a hurry we didn't mind. Lots of people sat outside but since we didn't have our dog with us we chose the a/c inside. I had a roast beef sandwich which was huge and very very good while my husband chose the Mac & cheese which was huge for a starter and very satisfying. Will definitely return again when in the area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LL28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“My Kingdom for Flavor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Had dinner here on a Friday two weeks ago with two friends. The server had been on the job for a few days and wasn't terribly comfortable with all of the menu and drink options. He was helpful as possible and tried his best. The restaurant has a funky charm. We sat on the patio and it was pleasant. The only downside was of the four dishes we ordered none of them were properly seasoned. I'm not even sure if they contained any salt at all. If you enjoy very non-aggressive seasoning than this is the place for you. Maybe it's a better breakfast/ lunch place. I wanted to like it but just could not do it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barking Dog Luncheonette also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Barking Dog Luncheonette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing