We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good fresh Italian food”
Review of Basta Pasta

Basta Pasta
Ranked #1,216 of 13,826 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Flatiron District
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Consistently good fresh Italian food”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Have been here twice and it appears that people are always happy leaving. The ingredients are super fresh and the service is quick and responsive. Try the Pre Fixe lunch for three courses. The panko sauteed chicken was really good, the spaghetti is awesome and fresh. Can't lose here.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TruthTripNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    82
    32
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Randolph, New Jersey, United States
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Seriously underrated”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We arrived shortly before our 8 p.m. reservation on Dec. 23 and were seated within 5 minutes. Our server was very pleasant and efficient. Even though it was a busy place, we did not find the noise level any different from a popular restaurant with a high clientele turnover.The breadsticks were obviously freshly baked, the caesar salad we shared was imaginatively presented and again, fresh and tasty. We could see meals being prepared from scratch in the open kitchens. Everyone takes pride in what they do here. Both the angel hair pasta and ravioli for the veal dish were perfectly cooked. Prices for entrees here are extremely reasonable. I've paid three times as much for a comparable seafood dish in Madison NJ! Looking forward to trying the dish for which they mix your pasta in a half-wheel of Parmesan cheese at the table, then add prosciutto! When you choose your one restaurant experience during your visit to the city, you want it to be exactly like this one!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank E L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Not good enough..”
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We eat here with friends, it has italian dishes made in a japan way, or with japan sushi. Sone dishes were good (like "spaghetti con uova di pesce") but portions were small (especially for the appetizer), taste for good but not excellent and prices are not cheap: $50 each for one appetizer, one dish, 1 bottle of wine and water. Atmosphere is pretty good, and waiters were very nice. But there are best and cheaper restaurant to est in NYC. Anyway, if you want to gi it's better to reserve..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chiarinadnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!”
Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Had the sea urchin pasta for mains and mussels for starters. Both were heavenly. Love the open kitchen concept and Japanese hospitality. Great fusion plates - be prepared to wait if you have no reservations!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ronrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Still going strong!”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I have been to Basta Pasta over 20 years ago and I rememberd this restaurant fondly. Fast forward three years ago, my nephew told me about this nice, reasonably priced restaurant on 17th street and it turned out to be my go-to restaurant now whenever I want a good meal with my daughter or friends. The place is just as good, if not better. One thing though, try and make reservation ahead of time, they are always packed!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grawu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basta Pasta also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Basta Pasta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing