We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gluten Free Success”

Big Nick's Burger Joint & Pizza Joint
Price range: $5 - $28
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Takeout
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
“Gluten Free Success”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

As my partner suffers from Coeliac Disease arranging to ensure that whilst staying in NY she could be fed was important and Big Nicks provide gluten free pizza and were very careful to avoid cross contamination. Contrary to expectation the gluten free pizza was actually good! (most gluten free food tends not to be a good as the normal variety).

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    129
    44
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Army, USA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just like I remember...”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

So, Big Nick's Burger and Pizza Joints are no longer across from The Beacon Theater. Darn rent increases!
But their location on 71st St, up from Columbus is serving the same food!
For me the burger is: Avocado Guacamole. Don't like avocado/guacamole, no problem. Big Nick's has the most extensive choice of burger (or pizza) toppings you can imagine. The burger was all I could handle, no room for fries. A large cooked to order burger on a toasted bun. Juicy and massive for the average person. Think it's not much, then ask for the SUMO challenge.
My waitress was attentive, it was just after the lunch rush, and never far way.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank faithfulgalme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great pizza; an institution”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Called in for an easy option when staying at the hotel next door. Quirky place with quirky staff but welcoming and just what you'd expect when you see the joint. The pizza was really good and the beer was top notch in terms of freshness and temperature - given the heatwave in NYC in July a cold beer at the end of a day's shopping was just right and Big Nick's delivered.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank D_and_LWales_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, VA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good service and food”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We came across this restaurant after we visited the World Trade Center and on our way to Chelsea Piers. We had the BLT, Burger and Grill Cheese. Everything was delicious. Only one (1) restroom (upstairs) for everyone! (Yes, you may have to wait a bit)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NJoyLife711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceptionally good pizzas”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Best pizzas ever....so sad it has now closed due to increased rent. It has been there for so long....such a shame.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Nick's Burger Joint & Pizza Joint also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing