We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pizza Extortion”

Big Nick's Burger Joint & Pizza Joint
Price range: $5 - $28
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Takeout
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
96 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Pizza Extortion”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

$28 for a mediocre large pizza, 1/2 plain and 1/2 with canned mushrooms and olives? Extortion. I'll never order from them again. Order a much better thin crust pizza from Papparedella on West 75th instead. It should be called Fat Greedy Nick's.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BaronFunkhauser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    129
    44
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atenas, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Over Hyped Hole in the Wall”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Close to my hotel, so I went for a cheeseburger...so much for "best burger in NY" So awful, I only ate half of it and that was only because I was starving. $16.00 for a burger and fries.....

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheTardisTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Love going here after drinking at the Dublin Pub”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Good place to get a hefty burger or a couple slices.

I used to order delivery from the other location, solid greasy spoon fare.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh,PA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Suprisingly Good”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stopped here for late nite grub and were pleasantly surprised. The restaurant had a local feel, so it didnt seem too touristy, and a huge menu. It took us forever to decide what to eat because there were so many options. Prices are really reasonable for NYC and they are open all night.

Our orders came out pretty quick and we got a lot of food and the burgers were great.

They also sell cheap beers here - bonus!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank SaraBeth2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“The Essential Upper West Side Joint”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

How is it that some businesses manage to assert their individuality so perfectly that they somehow transcend themselves and serve as archetypes? Big Nick's cramped and crazy dining rooms and huge, Greek-diner style menu are just part of the experience. The food is good in its genre, although one must admit that it isn't a style of cuisine that makes great demands on the chef. Service is cheery and fast and the prices are very reasonable, especially by NYC standards where a burger and fries can easily cost $15.00 or more. Choose Big Nick's for the convenient location and the nearly round-the-clock hours and for the bumptious feeling of Ole Noo Yawk. Be advised that the one restroom is tiny and frequently has a line; I don't think this is the best spot to take children for this reason, and due to the general hustle-bustle. Lots of options for vegetarians despite the burger-dominant menu.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank unavailable11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Nick's Burger Joint & Pizza Joint also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing