We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carmine's never disappoints!!!!”
Review of Carmine's

Carmine's
Ranked #121 of 13,937 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Broadway
Transit: Carmine's is two blocks north of the Times Square 42nd Street subway station serving the 1, 2, 3, 7, N, R subways. The A, C and E subways stop at 42nd Street and Eighth Ave. The B, D, F and V subways stop at 42nd Street and 6th Ave. The MTA bus system also serves the area. The M7, M10, M20, M27, M42, 27,104 all stop within one block of Carmine's.
Description: Carmine's is a family style restaurant offering exceptional value to its guests through the many dishes of Southern Italian cuisine. The Carmine's concept is to bring its guests a "wow-factor" sized portions and making any meal feel like an Italian American wedding feast. Platters of homestyle antipasto, pasta, decadent seafood or meat entrees, and of course homemade desserts are all staples at Carmine's, meant for sharing amongst friends and family. When great food and wine are supported by friendly and knowledgeable service, the results are magic - we want every day to feel like a Sunday afternoon at Grandma's.
Reviewed August 24, 2014

Our latest visit to Carmine's was excellent as always. We had the salad of the day which was fantastic. Then chicken parm plus rigatoni with sausage & broccoli. It was nice to try some new entrees which were every bit as good as last time we ate here. We were there @ 6pm on Saturday night so the place was busy but service was still great. Love this place a fave for Italian food for sure

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lesleyapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer W, Manager at Carmine's, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

Appreciate your rave review. The Rigatoni, Broccoli, and Sausage is one of my favorites. Mangia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (9,287)
There are newer reviews for Carmine's
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,180 - 3,184 of 9,287 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

When you wait an hour and a half, you expect the food is going to be great. I love Italian food, so I was excited and hungry. Ordered the Parmesan chicken with angel hair pasta and Caesar's salad. It just wasn't that great. Our waitress was great and she had a great attitude and pleasant. I rate the food so so.

Thank Randy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer W, Manager at Carmine's, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

Thank you for your review and feedback and will share with the store. Mangia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2014

Tried on line reservations, but was booked. Decided to walk in and hope for the best..we were seated (fam of 4) within 30 minutes...enjoyed some house Prosecco while waiting. The server was excellent, and warned us about the huge portions. My son loves steak and pasta, so we ordered the monster porterhouse, spaghetti w marinara, and Capresi salad. Easily could have fed 6! The steak was delicious and cooked to order, with a nice parsley/garlic glaze...son loved it. The spaghetti portion was huge, and had a nice sweet marinara. My wife LOVED the Capresi...the cheese was succulent (not at all like those rubber pingpong balls one sometimes gets). Even the olives were special.

Our bag of leftovers seemed to weigh ten pounds, and we did nibble on it later..so much food!

Some complain about the noise, but to me it added to the experience.

Big noisy place, huge portions of great food, attentive staff dealing with non-stop pandemonium..all worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ROBERT K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer W, Manager at Carmine's, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

Thank you for your review. The porterhouse is a delightful 46 ounces steak for your son. Hope to have you again. Mangia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2014

We joined friends for dinner before attending a Broadway show. Since we made reservations we got seated rapidly and ordered caesar salad, and a chicken and shrimp dish. What huge platters of food came out to our table! Four people had a hard time making a dent in the above mentioned order. We were too full for dessert, perhaps we'll order less next time?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank snivvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer W, Manager at Carmine's, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

Thank you for your great review. Carmine's has a full bakery and leaving room for a dessert is a good idea for next time or to go for later. Mangia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2014

We already knew the Carmine's in Las Vegas.
This time in NYC after we went to a theater we decided to have dinner there.
Excellent choice: delicious food, large quantities and low price with a good service

Thank pingsao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer W, Manager at Carmine's, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

Thank you for your review and try our restaurant in multiple cities. Mangia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmine's also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Carmine's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing