We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Brunch”

Elephant & Castle West
Ranked #1,813 of 13,684 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: West Village
Newmarket
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Brunch”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We enjoyed a nice Sunday Brunch at the Elephant and Castle. We arrived at 10 and there was a queue outside the door waiting and it was easy to see why. I had Lovely fresh juice and the eggs benedict with fried apples was an experience. Another person at the table had the Scrambled Eggs with Ham which was like Gammon in Ireland and it went down a treat.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nash81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    53
    13
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice breakfast”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Went there for breakfast with my wife, nephew, and niece. Very good selection, and good quality ingredients that were well prepared. It's a small place, with tables very close together. Even though we had to take the table closest to the front door, we felt comforable. Service was friendly and efficient. i hope to return on my next visit to NYC.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louavull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cozy”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Extremely nice & friendly little restaurant , with great burgers. Was there for the tail end of brunch, very diverse menu . Deserts are very creative.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanzarote, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Discovering New York”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

My first visit to New York, and I had done all the research in advance. Elephant & Castle was very near our rented apartment and, over 2 weeks, we made 3 visits for breakfast/brunch. My husband always goes for the eggs, bacon, hash browns and everything else type of breakfast. I´ve got a sweeter tooth and choose pancakes with fruit and maple syrup. So two happy people at Elephant & Castle then ! We´re not into all the fancy coffees on offer these days so the regular coffees - with constant top-ups - suited us just fine.

I hope my first visit to New York won´t be my last and I won´t need to do any Internet research next time. Straight to Elephant & Castle for breakfast - yes !

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
“Good quality”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I went there for brunch. The food was really good quality tasted good too! I had poached eggs with pureed spinach on a potato pancake it was flavorful loved the presentation. Also had a Champagne Carlton never tried one before it was gooooooood.
My friend had poached eggs on french toast with apples covered in holandise it was really good too!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank AtlantaDr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elephant & Castle West also viewed

New York City, NY
 

Been to Elephant & Castle West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing