We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dinner for two”

Eleven Madison Park
Ranked #63 of 13,551 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Flatiron District
Cross street: 24th Street
Transit: N or R to 23rd st. & Broadway, or take the 6 to 23th St. & Park Ave.
Description: Eleven Madison Park is located in a landmark art deco building with soaring 35-foot ceilings and a view of Madison Square Park. We offer an intimate bar featuring 35 wines by the glass as well as seasonal classic and proprietary cocktails. The second floor private dining rooms also feature views of Madison Square Park. For both lunch and dinner, Eleven Madison Park offers a Tasting Menu for $195.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Dinner for two”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This was truly a gastronomic and theatrical experience. Up there with The Fat Duck both for experience and food quality. Get a table, it is worth it!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank RavCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,959 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,451
    247
    147
    62
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Come with empty tummy and full wallet. Yummier than "Noma", but not as "touched, passionate and abstract" as.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

We were a family of 4 from Thailand, with 2 teenage girls. We knew its going to be 16 courses tasting menu (& the price!). We tried our best to keep us ready for this big meal, but at the end of course no.8, our younger one gave in.

The food was amazing!!! My wife and I just went to the world-renounce "Noma" in Copenhagen, but we enjoyed the food at Eleven Mad Park much more. The food was creative, but very approachable, when comparing to Noma - where the food was too abstract to the point that it's no longer yummy. But Noma's whole ingredients and services is haunting memorable.

Another way to describe this is like watching American film vs European film, I think.

"Eleven" will not let you know the menu upfront, but will ask you what you can't eat. Even my costly wine pairing, its the same. The food is mostly seafood and veggie, but we had a yummy venison for the finale of the main course. There was no dish that was not yummy! Back to the wine experience, they were so experimental with to the point (only that serving) that they poured beer in one of my white wine. That was the only moment that I thought they went too far.

The staff was efficient, professional and informative. Watching them work is quite an experience. Because the food keep coming to each table, they will have to serve each course, do the demo (watching them do carrot tartar at the table make you feel like being "Bug Bunny in New York"). There is no much activities and so many staff (twice as many as a restaurant would normally have), they need to match very carefully, cheerfully and rapidly. They turned exactly 90degree at each corner, so they will not bump into each other. It's like you are watching some kind of broadway show. That was another highlight of our evening.

Overall, the food was so yummy, but I wish they had a smaller tasting menu. Because of the lengthy meal, my wife had to ask them to shake a leg.

Anyway, you will not be disappointed, but be prepared to come with your tummy empty and wallet full.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thaifamily2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very Nice! Nut worth 3-stars?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

We had a great dinner at Eleven Madison Park. It was high quality, high standard and lots of staff. That is also a downside; they do look after you very well but it feels a bit crowded at times.

With regards to the dinner; it was very nice, had interaction and overall great taste. First to "dishes" were a little bit of a letdown; cookies that had two flavors but just taste like cheese cookie and oyster that had a sour dressing on it, making the entire oyster taste disappear. Rest was great!

We have visited many restaurants in Europe and two of them had the same 3-star rating and we both agreed that they stood out more, two stars would fit better in our opinion!

Does make for a special evening!

Helpful?
Thank JohnDoe77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Supreme service, average food it pains me to say”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

Don't get me wrong, we had a simply amazing evening here last Monday, partaking in the mandatory tasting menu, a couple of bottles of Sancerre, some champagne and ending the evening with altogether too much apple brandy. Throughout the evening we were treated to quite possibly the best service we've ever experienced at any fine dining restaurant with attentive wait staff (always there when you needed them, never in your face... A difficult balance to strike). The only constructive criticism I would dare to offer is perhaps to slow down while explaining the various courses to come - we had to ask for a second explanation on more than one occasion. This was a mere pinprick of a mark on an otherwise superlative service offering, and one we will always remember.

So why only 3 stars? Simple - the very reason we chose to visit the establishment in the first place... The food. In the final analysis it really doesn't matter how wonderful the service is if gastronomic expectations are left wanting, and we certainly felt this way after we'd finished dinner. Every tidbit, course and teaser seemed to blend into the next.. and not in the way intended. Instead we were barely able to remember one dish from the next, our palates entirely overwhelmed by the butteriness of every course. The flavor profile of the approximately 15 courses was just too similar. Not even the histrionics on display in presenting the meat course managed to elevate the dish to anything more than ordinary. Is it theatrical - certainly. Do I care? Absolutely not. I'd rather have a solidly prepared meal than one that relies on smoke and mirrors to get my attention. I have no doubt the dishes on offer are technically difficult to prepare but they seamed to lack variety.

On the upside the wine was delicious as was the apple brandy, and we still had a wonderful date night at Eleven Madison Park

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
99 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great, but too long”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Delicious food in an excellent location. Everything I simple and distinguished. The food is tops with a price according to the setting, that means very expensive. Still worthy, for a very rare occasion.
There is just one menu and consist of 15 items. It took us four hours to go through it. We were four and we had no discussions about the quality and the creativity of the meal: just excellent.
My suggestion would be to reduce the number of dishes, and reduce the time to no more than 2 and a half ours. Oh, and the service is EXCELLENT!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alfredoman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eleven Madison Park also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Eleven Madison Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing